Review: Tears of Tess, by Pepper Winters

18134894

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category/Genre: Dark erotic romance.

Self-published

Pages: 376

Blurb:

“My life was complete. Happy, content, everything neat and perfect.
Then it all changed.
I was sold.”

Tess Snow has everything she ever wanted: one more semester before a career in property development, a loving boyfriend, and a future dazzling bright with possibility.

For their two year anniversary, Brax surprises Tess with a romantic trip to Mexico. Sandy beaches, delicious cocktails, and soul-connecting sex set the mood for a wonderful holiday. With a full heart, and looking forward to a passion filled week, Tess is on top of the world.

But lusty paradise is shattered.

Kidnapped. Drugged. Stolen. Tess is forced into a world full of darkness and terror.

Captive and alone with no savior, no lover, no faith, no future, Tess evolves from terrified girl to fierce fighter. But no matter her strength, it can’t save her from the horror of being sold.

Can Brax find Tess before she’s broken and ruined, or will Tess’s new owner change her life forever?

A New Adult Dark Contemporary Romance, not suitable for people sensitive to grief, slavery, and nonconsensual sex. A story about finding love in the strangest of places, a will of iron that grows from necessity, and forgiveness that may not be enough.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This is the first book in the Monsters in the Dark series. I’ve had this book for a while now and I’ve been scared to read it. If you’re following this blog, you know that I enjoy stories with angst and sometimes twisted emotions, but dark romance is not a genre I have dabbled in a lot. I needed the right moment to read it and, that moment finally came.

Going in, I knew I would be twisted in different directions and that my emotions would be hard to follow, but I didn’t expect I’d feel a bit lost on top of everything else. It’s really strange actually. I finished ten minutes ago and it’s difficult to write this review.

You must be wondering if I enjoyed it or not so I’m not going to make you wait long. I enjoyed Tears of Tess a lot. Really, I had a hard time putting it down. It’s well-written, the characters are compelling in a twisted way, the plot is rather interesting and, dare I say, thrilling.

But at the same time, I believe that some things are repeated too many times. It bothered me a little while I was reading and it dragged things a bit, but upon reflection, the author couldn’t go another way if she wanted us to buy into the story, the characters and Tess’s changes. We had to go through this, see her struggling so much sometimes, and giving in at other times to revert back to the beginning. Such a story can’t be straight forward. It’s the principle of a dark romance such as this one. At least, that’s what I believe. It had to be twisted in every way possible.

Q, the male character, is a complete mystery most of the book, if not during almost 80% of the novel. I honestly couldn’t stomach him most of the time, but you know what? It’s seriously crazy but I was still compelled to read more, discover more and I tried so hard throughout the book to find something redeemable, a softer side to him. Honestly, I’m not even sure how I feel regarding him now. It’s so strange because I’m truly attached to him and Tess. Complete mind f***.

As a novel told exclusively from Tess’s POV (aside from the epilogue), the author does an outstanding job at keeping us interested, invested even. I can’t tell you how many time I was scared for Tess, how sometimes I was a bit weirded out too and at the same time understanding. Even if, like in any fiction, I had to suspend disbelief, I let myself be swept off.

The only thing that still bothers me is Suzette’s character. She’s a secondary character, quite interesting and useful, but her reasoning and sometimes her reactions have me still unsettled and I’m afraid I can’t fully understand her. Maybe she’ll surprise me in the next installments.

Anyway, while it’s obvious Tess and Q’s story isn’t over, we’re not left hanging and it’s a nice touch. After everything we’ve been through while reading this story, it’s good to take a little breath and get ready for the next book.

I knew I’d enjoy this novel, but I didn’t expect the very strange emotions rolling through me, even after finishing the first installment.

RATING:

20140118-180203.jpg to 4.5

Leave a Reply

