Review: His to Keep, by Terri L. Austin

25503023

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca

Pages: 320

Blurb:

Iain wasn’t just rough around the edges-he was uncivilized, despite all the elegant trappings and expensive suits. And Brynn wanted more of it. She wanted Iain in full-on barbarian mode.
She wanted to be taken.

Filthy rich British bad boy Iain Chapman made a name for himself as a ruthless businessman, but if he can secure an investment from Vegas powerhouse Trevor Blake, Iain could take his business to the next level. Solution? Hire beautifully timid corporate trainer-and Trevor’s sister-in-law-Brynn Campbell and seduce his way to success.

Brynn’s everything Iain is not: kind, delicate, decent. But she’s also got a taste for something a little beastly, and it doesn’t take long for Iain to break through her every inhibition. Brynn was supposed to be his pawn, but as Iain gets closer to his goal, he begins to realize he’s not ready to let her go, not now, not ever-even if it costs him everything.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

His to Keep is the third book in the Beauty and the Brit series. This is my first book read by this author and I’m afraid I’m not the right fit for this story.

I’m sorry, but when I read a book I want to have a good time with the story and/or characters. Here, I contemplated giving up the book a few times for different reasons. But I didn’t give up and I’m glad. This book isn’t horrible or anything, it’s just not for me.

I feel awful writing this. I know other readers will love this book and have a really nice time reading it, but I suppose not all books are for me so let me try and explain why I’m not the right fit for this novel.

First of all, I knew from the first chapter this book wouldn’t be for me. You see, I like it when I get to know the characters and their voice, but sometimes I find it hard to relate to some when the voice overtakes everything, detailing things too much. Here, the first chapter isn’t exactly “an info dump” introduction to the characters and the plot, but I couldn’t connect to either Brynn or Iain. Brynn’s voice was, at that moment, too present if you will. It’s my taste so I’m probably the odd one out.

Then, I think some dialogues aren’t flowing so well. Sometimes they feel a bit forced to me. Maybe it’s because I couldn’t connect or relate to the main characters, but either way, I had to re-read some parts a time or two (mostly in the first 30%). Then again, after a little while things are flowing more as if the author has a better handle on her characters.

My other issue is a big turn off for me. I love it when characters have flaws (I don’t necessarily dislike Iain’s flaws even though I don’t think his character is explored enough), but Brynn is not a character I like. Yes, she’s sweet and kind, but she has NO backbone. I know it’s part of her character and we somehow see her growing into herself, but seriously at some point it pisses me off a lot.

Incidentally, we see Brynn doing the same thing over and over throughout the book: running away. I think it becomes redundant real fast, mostly because I don’t like the character and the plot isn’t necessarily mind-blowing. I believe some parts could have been tightened a bit to make it a shorter story with a bit more dynamism and rhythm.

Last thing, some secondary characters are so over the top they further pushed me away from the story wile reading. Tash and Cass are too much. I get they’re supposed to show Brynn’s doormat behavior, but less is better sometimes in my opinion.

As you can see, I didn’t like this book. I didn’t hate it, but it’s not my type of read. I expected something different, not much in term of plot, but mostly in term of characters and their chemistry.

Once again, I’m sorry this one isn’t for me.

RATING:

20140103-095135.jpg to 2.5

Leave a Reply

