Review: Her Fantasy Husband, by Nina Croft

29082356

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Genre/Category: Adult Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Entangled Publishing, LLC (Brazen)

Pages: 157

Release Date: April 4th 2016

Blurb:

Security Company CEO Josh Slater put his life on hold when he said “I do” to protect a stranger. While his marriage was never meant to be real—he hasn’t even seen his wife in five years—Josh can’t shake the idea that he’d be cheating if he moves on. Now he’s a man with a mission: chase down his “wife,” get an annulment, and finally indulge in a little no-strings sex.

Heiress Alexia Slater entered into a marriage of convenience straight out of high school to gain control of her inheritance before her not-so loving family squandered the whole thing. She doesn’t want the marriage to be real—she’s fought hard for her independence—but that hasn’t stopped her from spending the last five years fantasizing about her gorgeous husband.

Then he shows up.

Josh wants an annulment. Lexi needs to stay married. When the chemistry explodes between them, there’s no stopping the battle of wills only one of them can win…

She’s had the fantasy, now it’s time for the real thing…

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

REVIEW:

I received this novel via Netgalley for an honest review.

Her Fantasy Husband is the second novel in the Things to do Before You Die series, but it can be read as a standalone.

When I saw this book a couple of weeks ago, I knew it’d be something for me and my current mood. I wanted something that while not necessarily with lots of angst was something with somewhat of a depth. And it’s exactly what this book is like.

That being said, don’t think it’s extremely deep or that the whole plot is going to blow your mind completely. This book is perfect for when you need something to chill a little, nothing more and nothing less.

The writing of Nina Croft is flowing rather well, so well in fact that I didn’t see the time flying or the chapters passing. The voice is nice, fun at times without being over the top. It’s nothing new in the genre, but it’s always nice to go back to the roots of the genre once in a while. And here it works without much of a glitch.

The plot itself is, as I said before, nothing to talk about. It’s something we can easily find in the genre, but when done right it’s almost always a win and here the author doesn’t miss the mark in my opinion.

I truly like how Josh and Lexi are getting closer progressively. It’s not done all at once and yet it’s not really a slow burn either. It feels quite natural while reading even though I wanted to slap Josh a few times (which isn’t a bad thing because it means that I truly was into the whole story). But there is still something I find a bit disappointing. I think the story goes awfully fast in the last 25-30% of the story. Things are resolved easily AND quickly. I don’t want to put any spoiler here so it’s rather difficult to explain, but let’s say that things are a little too neat and tidy too quickly considering the build up from the very start. It’s a bit too much for me, but it’s also because I wanted that little bit more that’d make this story a complete hit for me.

The secondary characters while not very present add a little something to better characterize Lexi. I wouldn’t have minded a bit more, mostly when it comes to Josh and the people in his life, but still it draws a pretty good picture of Lexi and Josh’s little world.

Is this book worth the read? Yes, without a doubt.

Would I read the other books in the series? Yes.

This is a really nice read in the genre and I’m left with a smile so it’s always a good thing. 🙂

RATING:

4

Leave a Reply

