Review: Make Me Sin, by J.T. Geissinger

26133112

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance, Rockstar Romance.

Publisher: Montlake Romance

Pages: 400

Blurb:

Chloe Carmichael’s life feels pretty sweet—she’s both maid of honor and florist for her best friend’s A-list wedding, things are getting serious with her boyfriend, and her flower shop is about to get a spread in a national magazine. But it all quickly turns sour whenever the best man, Bad Habit drummer A.J. Edwards, shows his face…his handsome, unforgettable face. A.J. is everything Chloe doesn’t want: tattooed, selfish, and all-around bad news. So why can’t she stop thinking about him?

Goody two-shoes Chloe isn’t exactly A.J.’s type, either, but the chemistry between them is undeniable. A.J. will be the first to say he isn’t a saint, but there’s something he’s not saying—something that would devastate Chloe. The only way he can protect her is to push her away, but the drummer finds he needs her now more than ever. When a wedding-day confrontation reveals secrets they’re both hiding, will Chloe and A.J. ever find their rhythm again?

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

Make Me Sin is the second book in the Bad Habit series. Each book features a different band member and their significant other. If you remember, last year I reviewed Sweet As Sin which is the first book in the series. I qualified the first installment as a guilty pleasure. Is Make Me Sin like that too?

Guess what?

No! It’s undeniably better and in my opinion more emotionally charged. Or maybe I was able to connect a lot more easily with Chloe and A.J. But the thing is, I truly love this book.

Of course, I can still point out a few things I think could make this novel even better, but it’d be nitpicking. I’d rather start with what I like and love in this second book.

The writing is, in my opinion, more consistent and flows even better. In this book, the dialogues aren’t overdone and mingle really well with the descriptive parts and Chloe’s inner musings (since this book is mostly from her POV). Also, the author conveys really well some of the emotions depicted here.

Then, there are the characters. I love Chloe and A.J. When I read the first book in the series, I just knew I’d love Chloe and A.J’s story, but I would have never expected being so taken by them (especially A.J. 😉 ). Truly, it’s a wonderful surprise.

Then, you have the plot that, while it has its flaws, works rather well. I find it more believable than some events from the first installment.

But now that you know what I love the most in this book, I need to talk a little bit of the things that prevent me from rating this book with the highest rating.

First of all, there still are a few little things I find a bit ‘too much’ for me. It’s not so much some tiny bits of Chloe’s POV that are maybe a bit too chick-lit in some small ways (and while I don’t mind chick-lit I find it clashes a bit with the overall story), but it had more to do with the plot itself.

I know, a few lines before I wrote that the plot works well, but it doesn’t mean it’s all to my liking. Before I go further, I want to point out something. There’s something huge happening at one point that completely took me by surprise. I won’t tell you who is involved or what it is so it doesn’t ruin your reading pleasure, but let me tell you something. HOLLY. SH*T! 😮

I wasn’t expecting that to happen and I swear I thought my heart would break. So you see, some bold choices made by the author are really good and serve to up the story. But then, you have things happening that you see coming from a mile away and that’s when you end up sighing and rolling your eyes a few times. The whole thing with Eric was no surprise whatsoever and while it’s rather well done (even though I wouldn’t have minded a bit more regarding his own troubles to be brought to light in more details), I’m still sad that nothing surprised me and that everything is over rather quickly. I didn’t agonized much here. It’s too bad because sometimes throughout the novels I think there are parts a bit ‘boring’ that could have used a bit more tension.

Overall, it’s a really, really good addition to the rockstar romance novels out there. If anything, I think it’s better than the first one and I will keep Chloe and A.J in my heart for a little while.

I look forward to the next book!

RATING:

4

Leave a Reply

