Review: Layers, by T.L. Alexander

19571966

Part of a series? Yes.

Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Self-published

Pages: 308

Blurb:

Alexia Keith, self-proclaimed nerd and potty-mouth, is a beautiful, scotch drinking, complicated mess. In other words, she has issues, and the last thing she needs is her boss, Jaxson Ryan, CEO of Ryan Acquisitions, messing with her issues. She finds him hard and even harder to resist, but she must, he’s off limits.

One of New York’s most eligible bachelors, Jaxson Ryan, is the poster boy for the tall, hot, conceited self-proclaimed manwhores. The only thing he wants is Ryan’s, Risk Manager, Alexia Keith.

What happens, when a man with a bedpost-notching waiting list, a man who thought he had it all, wants the only woman he can’t have?

The Layer Series is written for adults, by an adult (this is questionable). In contains adult language, and adults doing adult stuff like, hot sex and drinking scotch. It’s written for those who like to laugh and maybe shed a tear or two.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

Layers is the first book in the Layers series.

I will keep this short because this book is a DNF for me at 14%. I know, it’s very early in a book to give up and maybe I will pick it up at another time. The thing is, I can’t find a single thing I enjoy in this book or a single thing that makes me want to know more.

I don’t like the overly caricatural characters, I don’t like the heroine’s POV (her voice if you wish), I don’t think the dialogues flow well and to me all characters sound the same with an over-use of “Freakin'”, “fuck” and “hey” for no real reason whatsoever. The plot itself isn’t fully developed considering I’m only at 14% in, but even the mystery/conflict introduced doesn’t interest me, probably because all characters annoy me. A. Lot.

Also, the story starts out of nowhere and while it’s the author’s choice to throw us right in the story without much build up, it’s not something I enjoy here because I find the opening scenes a bit confusing and so over the top that I can’t bring myself to smile when I should. And I can’t picture the male character, Jaxson Ryan. Actually, other than his eyebrow thing there’s no real description of him when he makes his first appearance. He doesn’t sound like a character I would want to know more, to be honest. It’s obvious him and Alexia have a past, but it’s confusing and somehow I don’t buy it.

Once again, I know I’m only at 14% so I can’t judge anything, but right now there are too many things working against the book for me and I don’t feel like pushing through my annoyance and dislike to read more of this book. Maybe in a few days/weeks I will want to try again, but right now I know this book isn’t for me.

I’m really sorry, but I’m not the right reader for this book. Don’t let it stop you from picking it up, because it could be a good match for you. 😉

RATING:

I won’t rate this book because it’s a DNF

Leave a Reply

