Review: The Hurricane, by R.J. Prescott

23354073

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category/Genre: Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Sports Romance.

Publisher: Piatkus (Little, Brown Book Group UK)

Pages: 300

Blurb:

Emily McCarthy is living in fear of a dark and dangerous past. A gifted mathematician, she is little more than a hollow, broken shell, trying desperately to make ends meet long enough to finish her degree.

Through an unlikely friendship with the aging, cantankerous owner of an old boxing gym, Em is thrown into the path of the most dangerous man that she has ever met.

Cormac “the Hurricane” O’Connell is cut, tattooed and dangerous. He is a lethal weapon with no safety and everyone is waiting for the mis-fire. He’s never been knocked out before, but when he meet Em he falls, HARD. Unlike any other girl he’s ever met, she doesn’t want anything from him, but just being around her makes him want to be a better person.

They are polar opposites who were never meant to find each other, but some things are just worth the fight.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

The Hurricane is the first book in the series and the second book is now available. It’s funny because up until a few days ago I’ve never heard of this book. I must have been under a rock somewhere because when I see the amount of ratings this book has I don’t understand how come I’ve never heard of it.

Anyway… Because I love sports romance novels and fighters romance books even more, I had to read this one. And…

I’m disappointed!

I expected to love this one so much that I’d be gushing shamelessly like so many reviewers but in the end it doesn’t live up to my expectations. I don’t feel like all the readers that seem to be so in love with this book.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a bad book and it has its moments when I’ve easily lost myself to the story, but these moments are too few and “far” between moments when I got bored. I know, some of you must be cursing me already and thinking I’m nuts or something, but I think the author is mostly telling and not especially showing, even when the emotions are running high or when there are scenes with the two main characters that should have me either afraid or swoon. For example, when the main character says that a room stinks, I want to actually “feel” it. You know what I mean? Basically, I don’t find the writing vivid enough to make me experience this story as I should and I wouldn’t be this disappointed if this story wasn’t calling for gut wrenching emotions at times.

Also, while Emily and O’Connell are so sweet together, I didn’t see the actual falling in love. To me, it feels like they meet, feel lust and soon after deeper emotions. It would be fine if only I was on board, but somehow I kept expecting something more and truly feel the chemistry. And the sex scenes were… honestly, I don’t like these scenes because it goes back to what I said above: I don’t feel the chemistry. Somehow, I don’t feel like so many other readers and I am honestly wondering if I’m not turning into a very tough reader. :/

Overall, it’s a nice story with interesting supportive characters, but if I’m being honest there’s not much happening (and I mean in a term of actual conflicts) throughout the book. It’s mostly in the end and it’s over pretty fast, but isn’t badly executed. I think some chapters are more filler chapters than anything else and usually that’s when I got a bit disconnected.

So yes, I’m not blown away and it makes me really sad. I guess I’ve missed the mark here. To me, it’s an average read, entertaining in some parts, but the overall story could have been a lot more powerful if only emotions and feelings could have been felt through the writing itself. I want more “showing” and less “telling”.

I’m tough and I apologize, but I don’t know if it’s only me but when I expect a lot of a book I end up a lot more difficult once I’m finished if it doesn’t meet my expectations.

But don’t worry, I’m not rating this book badly! I know that when reading my review you’d think I hated it, but I didn’t. It’s a nice story with a lot more potential in my opinion.

RATING:

3

Leave a Reply

