Review: Hook, by Marie York

27262727

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Category/Genre: Adult, Erotic Romance, Contemporary

Self-Published

Pages: ?

Blurb:

Knox “Knockout” McArthur should be on top of the world. He’s the top fighter in the country, he lives in perfect Las Vegas, and he never has a problem getting women. But, no amount of partying and women can heal the scars from his past. He could never forget Zoey.

Mila Greene is just trying to survive. Granted, her way of survival is not the most conventional, but she does what she has to to support her little sister, MacKenzie. Stripping has become a way of life for her, and she chooses to embrace it. Her worst fear, however, is that Kenz will follow in her dirty footsteps.

When these two’s worlds collide, can they heal each others’ wounds? Or are they just bound to be another scar of the past?

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This is the first installment in the Las Vegas serial/series. This first installment is rather short (think novella length) and sets characters and events for the next few installments.

When I started this book, what threw me at first was how quickly we’re launched into the story without a real handle on who Mila and Knox are. And what I’m still unsure of is the chemistry between these main characters.

Considering this book is a dual POV story, I expected to feel more of what they feel toward each other and while it’s spelled out that they have no issues feeling lust toward each other, I don’t feel it. You know, sometimes in books I actually feel something between the characters, as if the chemistry is palpable. Here, I’m one of the few early readers who doesn’t feel this way. It’s apparently me, though.

And yet, I was quite drawn to the story and the characters, more as individuals as who they are together. If that makes any sense to you. Mila is, with no doubt, a strong character and I feel really bad for her. Actually, the author deals with Mila’s little sister wonderfully, so much so that I actually feel what Mila feels when her sister is disrespectful. And yet, I’m sad that the author doesn’t spend more time on what happens to Mila with one of her clients. I’m not going to say anything more as to not give away something, but I think it’s too easily overlooked. Maybe it’ll be talked about more in another installment.

Knox is interesting and yet we still don’t know much about him. There’s a mystery kept regarding his past and even though the author gives away a few hints to keep us hooked, I’d like to know more and in details. I feel like I don’t know who Knox is yet, even though it’s obvious he’s not a bad guy at all. He’s strangely sweet actually.

Knox and Mila works together, but I expect to feel more for them when they’re together. I’m not just saying that for the sex scenes because I honestly don’t care much here. No, actually I want to see more of them and feel more when it comes to their chemistry. I don’t expect a whirlwind romance because it’d clash completely with the somewhat gritty atmosphere of this story, but I want something that reaches out to me in a way.

The plot itself is… I don’t really know how to describe it. I think the author has a lot more up her sleeve for the next installments. The ending sure lets us think that things are going to turn out more complicated for Mila soon and I wonder what impacts it’ll have on Knox’s career. Speaking of, I’d love to see more of Knox as a fighter.

Overall, it’s a great first installment. I’m not as into it as I expected, but the writing flows well, the characters have something to them that makes me want to know more and see more so I will be reading the next installment. And I hope the plot gets a lot more twisted than it is so far.

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

