Review: For Seven Nights Only, by Sarah Ballance

27863991

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category/Genre: Contemporary Romance, Adult

Publisher: Entangled Publishing, LLC (Lovestruck)

Pages: 186

Blurb:

Kelsie Reed is over bad luck and bad men. Newly dumped, she’s now the pathetically single maid of honor in her sister’s wedding—and her ex is the best man. Her bad luck continues when a plumbing meltdown in her apartment sends her sexy neighbor running to her rescue. He’s got “serial dater” written all over him, which is unfortunate because the man is hot.

Sawyer Chase loves women, but settling down? He’ll leave that to his brothers. But when Kelsie confesses she’s a dating disaster and is about to become the laughing stock of her family wedding, Sawyer takes control. He’s got one week to teach her how to land the man of her dreams, and he’ll do it on her terms: no touching, no kissing, and definitely nothing more.

But some rules need to be broken, especially when, for once, there’s something on the line worth fighting for…

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

For Seven Nights Only is the second book in the Chase Brothers series. This second installment can be read as a standalone. Each book features a different couple—and a different brother.

I’m not familiar with this series and this author and I was eager to read this book after reading the blurb. Unfortunately, my enthusiasm lasted so long. It’s an enjoyable read, but not something I’d necessarily recommend or remember in a few weeks. As soon as I was a few pages in I knew it wasn’t for me, that the writing wasn’t lively enough for this type of book in my opinion.

Is it badly written? No, it’s not badly written. It’s just that, considering the rather light plot I think it’s important that the writing style must be lively, must be a breath of fresh air and mostly shows the characters in such a light that they appear somewhat alive.

The thing is, I don’t have a real appreciation for Sarah Ballance’s characters in this book. Granted, Swayer and Kelsie are likable, but they seem too superficial to me. I enjoy it when an author dugs very deeply in their characters’ psyche and here I’m left hanging. Somehow, I think they lack substance.

The same goes for the plot. The plot is basically circling to the same thing, with the same kind of dialogue without much of anything solved until suddenly something clicks for the characters and it’s changed. They’re changed. I’m sorry, but maybe it’s because I wasn’t really into it, but somehow it left me with an emotion of no real interest. Of disbelief too.

And I’m still wondering what is the interest of a few passing characters barely introduced in this book. They barely register, are of almost no use and we forget their name as soon as they’re mentioned. At least, this is how I feel. :/

Somehow, this story is “so light” in all things that it misses the mark of truly entertaining me as it should. It could have packed a punch if only the plot was tighter and if the events were more nuanced instead of them feeling like a repeat.

Then again, it’s an easy read, quick and with its sexy scenes so it can be nice to read in between books or when you need something to chill after a long day.

I’m sorry to say I’m not the right reader for this book and I will not read the other books in the series.

RATING:

2.5 to 3

Leave a Reply

