Review: Can’t Resist Him, by Molly McLain

25874143

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category/Genre: Contemporary Romance, Adult.

Self-published.

Pages: 196.

Blurb:

Sometimes what you want and what you need are two very different things. 

Always relegated to the “friends with benefits” corner of small town River Bend, Jenny Riley is done giving the milk for free. Falling hard for a bad boy? Not in the plan, either.

Sexy, emotionally-wounded Marine Reservist Brody Nelson just needs someone to lend an ear. A friend. Friends to lovers? That’s more than he bargained for.

Neither wants a relationship. A long distance friendship should be enough.

It’s not.

Warning: This books contains a tattooed, pierced hero with a few surprises up his sleeve…and a hella sexy one down his pants.

Can’t Resist Him is the fifth book in the River Bend series.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This book isn’t the first one in the River Bend series and while I thought I could read this one without reading the others first I don’t think it’s the best solution if you want to enjoy the full experience. There are mentions of other characters that made it hard for me to fully get into this book at first because I wasn’t familiar with the little world the author created.

This is a great book in the genre. The writing is mostly flowing and while I think some dialogues should have been more natural (mostly in the first few chapters), I had a nice time reading Brody and Jenny’s story. They’re good characters.

Brody and Jenny are characters you often see in romance novels, but they work. I can’t say I fully fell for them or that I felt for them when they would go through a tough time, but the story was nice enough to make me want to finish this book. It’s a win considering. 🙂

But, I’m a bit sad that I didn’t feel more for these two characters. While Brody touches me a bit more than Jenny, somehow I don’t buy their issues all that much. And I find their romance too “easy”. Ah, it sounds bad to write this. I’m not saying I need angst and drama piled up, but I do enjoy some set backs that actually make me sweat and tighten my grip on my e-reader. Here, the main issue coming rather late in the story doesn’t last long enough or is exploited enough to produce the desired effect on me. Yet, I find that Brody’s background drew me more than I had anticipated at first.

Also, Jenny’s issues while interesting regarding her self-worth and fear of falling for the wrong type of man again isn’t shown enough. Obviously, Brody is there to break through her defense, but I think it’s done a bit too soon or maybe without showing how hard it was on Jenny at first. In a way, I can’t buy all her issues, but I’m not sure it’s because it’s not used more here in this book or because I’m not all familiar with this series and her past with another character we don’t see much here, but is mentioned a lot.

The plot itself is holding on its own pretty well. It makes for a nice story with a sweet romance that doesn’t tug on my heart strings too much. I find it a good read when you’re looking for something to read quickly after reading a novel emotionally taxing.

Overall, it’s a nice discovery and I will probably grab the first book in the series real soon and check for myself if I made a mistake by reading Can’t Resist Him first thinking that while it’s part of a series it not needed to have read the other books. You can read Can’t Resist Him on its own, but I’m afraid you’d miss out on some of the dynamic between other characters in this book that aren’t introduced that smoothly when you’re new to the River Bend crowd.

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

