Review: Sweet As Sin, by J.T. Geissinger

24933557

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category/Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Adult, Rockstar Romance.

Publisher: Montlake Romance

Pages: 386

Blurb:

Twentysomething Kat Reid is loving life as an in-demand Hollywood makeup artist. She has absolutely no interest in rock ’n’ roll, but in order to pay the mortgage, she agrees to work on the set of a rock video for the world-famous rockers known as Bad Habit…which brings her face-to-face with Nico Nyx, lead singer of Bad Habit and Adonis in the flesh.

However, the fiercely independent Kat isn’t impressed by the hard-living, womanizing rock star. But when Nico’s model girlfriend shows up to the set drunk and Kat is tapped to replace her as the video’s sexy bride, her combustible chemistry with Nico suddenly threatens to consume the set. Nico feels it, too—and becomes determined to win Kat over, body and soul. Yet behind his rock god swagger, Nico hides a dark secret. Can he rock Kat’s world forever, or will he just break her heart?

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

Sweet As Sin is the first book in the Bad Habit rockstar romance series. The other books will feature a different couple.

This book is like a guilty pleasure. I’m not going to lie, it took me a few chapters to really warm up to the story and characters, but once I did it was difficult for me to put it down. I can see many flaws about this book and I’ll explain a few, but in the end I believe it’s a book I needed to read to chill and have mindless fun without expecting too much.

Let me talk about the first reason why it took me a few chapters to get into the story…

You see, I easily buy insta-lust because in romance novels it’s pretty much what almost always happen. I enjoy it, but insta-love? I have a real issue with that. I can work with an instant connection between characters sometimes, but love… it’s different. I know other readers aren’t like me and I’m not saying Kat and Nico blurt out their undying love to each other quickly or easily, but very, very quickly we get the impression from Nico that he’s head over heels with Kat for no apparent reason and Kat is easily swayed by his grand gestures and his sometimes “alpha-male” behavior. Unfortunately, it took me a little while to get on board.

Also, I find Nico a bit aggressive in his pursuit of Kat. It was a bit over the top for me and it took me longer to truly like Nico and root for him. But once I opened up to this character, I was rooting for him all the way. Even when Kat started to show less of a backbone (to my dismay).

The plot itself while working and entertaining is a bit over the top in parts. I would have enjoyed seeing more of a character’s development regarding Kat’s past or even Nico because everything is told to us, but in the end I haven’t fully felt real emotions while reading.

Basically, I’m disappointed that I didn’t feel more when it’s called for and yet I’m very surprised that I enjoyed reading this book so much.

Then, the ending and the whole plot unravelling at once had me a bit unsure of what to think of it. I believe that it’s all over a bit fast and without too many consequences for any of the characters and I didn’t have the time to truly worry. After such a build up, it can be a bit disappointing.

This book isn’t without faults, without flaws, but it did what it’s supposed to do: distract.

The writing is flowing well so it made it easy for me to stay interested, even when some dialogues are a bit “too much” for my liking. Once again, it goes back to stating that this book is like a guilty pleasure.

A few words regarding Kat and Nico’s relationship. I’m not going to go into details and tell you what I think works and what doesn’t because I don’t want to give away any spoiler, but I believe that the heat between these two isn’t always there. I’m not talking about graphic sex scenes, but about the chemistry between them. Sometimes I couldn’t really believe in it and I’m afraid that some scenes are more filling than very useful. This is only my opinion, of course.

Now that I’m finished with this first book, I look forward to the next book in the series that will be available January 2016. A.J has me intrigued and him and Chloe together should be… fun. 😉

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

