Review: Lick, by Kylie Scott

18873617

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category/Genre: Adult/New Adult Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Pages: 232

Blurb:

Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

Evelyn Thomas’s plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man in her room, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

One thing is certain, being married to one of the hottest rock stars on the planet is sure to be a wild ride.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This is the first book in the Stage Dive series. If you’re into rockstar romance books, you must have heard about this one and I’m glad I finally gave it a chance. Took me a while, but when I saw this one on Netgalley I knew it was time!

I really enjoyed this book and yet I have a lot to say regarding the characterization, the depth and so on. But the good thing about this book is that it does what it’s supposed to do; it distracts.

I think that going in and waiting for a lot I would have been disappointed, but I was only looking for a good distraction, something that wouldn’t go too deeply into the emotions and something sexy.

Lick focuses on David and Evelyn, right after they got married in Las Vegas. The first chapter is quite fun to read. It’s a little bit cliché, has a vivid chick lit vibe to it and at first I wasn’t sure if that would be for me, but then it changed a bit and it became easier for me to empathize with Evelyn.  It is a fun introduction to this story and doesn’t waste any time.

After that, I think the author should have been more thorough in the characterization, both of Evelyn and David. Throughout the book I thought that while the characters were nice and seeing them getting closer was great, I didn’t fully know them. And I still don’t.

This is my opinion and this is because I tend to enjoy stories that are very centered on the characters and their characterization, but here I think the author could have given us more to work with regarding David. I like him, but I don’t really know him if you know what I mean. And reflecting on the time frame to which this story is based, I have a hard time buying his and Evelyn’s relationship. That could have been different if the characters were more vivid to me, more fleshed out. :/

The plot itself is nice, flows well and isn’t very different from most romance out there. I think the rock n’ roll life while hinted at and briefly showed could have been even more used to better emphasize how it’s foreign to Evelyn’s way of life. It could have been a nice touch. But I’m sure it’s more used in the next installments.

What else…

The secondary characters aren’t that interesting even though some things are hinted at regarding the other band members and that’s smartly done because it makes me want to read their story now. But I can’t say I truly felt the interest of Evelyn’s friends or her brother. Honestly, I couldn’t place them or see them in my head while reading. Again, I think it comes back to the characterization because they’re useful at one point or another.

Yet, I think the whole last part of the book once Evelyn is back in Portland is rather nice. It caught my attention again and kept me riveted until the end even though I think the resolution comes out of the blue and suddenly when things weren’t budging much before that. That surprised me and had me wondering if I hadn’t missed a chapter or something for a few pages. But that’s probably just me.

A few words regarding the heat level of this book?

Usually, when you read a rockstar romance book it’s bound to be sizzling hot. Here, while at least once scene seemed rather hot to me, the others aren’t really anything to talk about. They only bring to perspective how Evelyn and David are first trying to connect post-wedding. I expected another chemistry between these characters after reading so much about this book (and this series) but in the end, it’s more of a nice story than a hot and intense one.

But I repeat, I really had a good time reading this book. I can’t resist rockstar romance novels.

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

