Review: Laid Out, by Sidney Halston

23636580

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category/Genre: Contemporary Romance, Adult.

Publisher: Loveswept

Pages: 302

RELEASE date: August 18th

Blurb: 

Perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and Cecy Robson, Sidney Halston’s scorching new MMA romance proves there are no holds barred when it comes to seduction.
  
Growing up an Army brat, Violet Channing could never meet her dad’s high expectations. But in the eyes of her best friend, she could do no wrong. He even insisted that he should be her first kiss. Now Cain Sorensen is all grown up, hardened by years in special ops and always looking for a good fight. Tall, with striking blue eyes and impossibly blond hair, he’s a modern-day Viking warrior. Of course, Violet’s all grown up, too, and she’s ready to surrender to his every command.

Cain knows he’s bad for Violet. His work is dangerous, and his hobbies are downright deadly. As a private mercenary and a mixed martial arts fighter, he could never let such an innocent soul into his world. And yet his most grueling combat training is no match for Violet’s killer curves, hot touch, and suggestive glances. Now all of Cain’s most explosive fantasies are coming true—but once they cross the line between friends and lovers, there’s no turning back.

ADD TO GOODREADS


 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This is the fourth book in the Worth the Fight series. Each book can be read as a standalone from what I know considering that each book features a different couple.

I was expecting a lot and while it was entertaining for the most part, I can’t say I’m not a tiny bit disappointed.

I wasn’t expecting to be blown away exactly, but I was expecting a more solid writing. Instead, I think some things are too all over the place.

For example, the dual POV isn’t always clear. The author switches POV almost out of the blue and sometimes it was confusing. But I have an ARC so maybe this is going to be fixed by the time the book comes out. Call me weird, but I like to see a real difference between the POVs, I like it when I know when the author switches and most importantly why that switch is important. Here, I wasn’t always sure who was thinking for a sentence or two and it ended up bothering me a little.

Then there’s also the issue with the number of characters. I like that the author has such a tight knit and interesting group of friends. The intention is good and it’s working to a certain extent, but sometimes the writing doesn’t make it clear enough who’s talking and how they move. And some characters have the same way of talking…There aren’t many scenes with the whole group of friends, but sometimes it was confusing enough to pull me out of the story.

Throughout the book I had a hard time picturing the characters. Not necessarily how they look because that’s pretty much clear, but how they move and what they’re doing. Even their environment isn’t all that detailed. I guess I miss some descriptions. Sometimes the dialogues are too chatty and don’t serve the plot or the rhythm of the story.

Then there’s the plot…There are a lot of good things to be said regarding the premise. I can’t exactly tell you what I love the most regarding Cain and Violet because they go from way back and it’s not stated in the blurb, but it’s good. Yet, I think the characters have too much of a back and forth going and little evolution regarding their thought process to make the change in Violet and Cain’s dynamic fully understandable. Sometimes changes have been a long time coming (too long) and suddenly things would change quite drastically. I wouldn’t have minded if I had felt a real connection with the main characters.

Also, it’s said to be a scorching series and maybe the other installments are, but this installment isn’t all that scorching hot. There are a few sex scenes, but nothing that hot or steamy. At least, I didn’t care much of these. :/

Even the whole “seduction game“ didn’t really work for me. Cain is contradicting himself too much even though I can understand him at first. But after a little while…I don’t know. I guess I can see why some readers think this is a steamy, scorching read because of how Cain and Violet start to get closer, but in my opinion these scenes aren’t showing their true potential to make them…epic. Yes, I am picky.

I’m really sorry for this review, but I think my disappointment is running too deep to write anything else. I had a good enough time with this book, but nowhere near my expectations or the praises I could find regarding this series.

RATING:

2.5 to 3

Leave a Reply

