Review: Wild, by Magan Vernon

20320625

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Beautifully Broken Books

Pages: 53

Blurb:

Wild- EPISODE 6 is the conclusion in the Forever Wild serial.

All roads led Valerie and Wes back to the Vegas desert where they first met.

Valerie is ready to do whatever it takes to get back her husband, even if it means getting help from an old friend and signing confidentiality contracts.

But nothing has come easy for Valerie and Wes in their wild relationship and when they’re hit with some extra surprises they have to figure out if one wild night will lead to being Forever Wild.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 


REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This is the last installment of the Forever Wild serial. Wild is a nice ending to Wes and Valerie’s love story, but it will not leave a lasting impression on me.

If you’re looking for a nice, light-hearted serial then you probably should try this one.

If you want a different serial, something thrilling and addictive with an incredible love story, then you should lower your expectations.

I hope I’m not too harsh because I had a good time with this serial and the characters are nice. But that’s all. I miss that little something more that would have made it impossible to stop reading. I miss feeling something while reading. And I’m saddened that the plot isn’t thicker. I think this story lacks depth and some characterization to make it a 5 stars read for me.

The first thing on my mind upon finishing this last installment is how very little we know of Wes. In the end, we have facts, we know some of the conflict with his parents, but it’s swept under the rug. There’s nothing more and the last scene (I don’t want to spoil you, but his parents make an appearance) contradicts completely what we’ve been told in another installment. If I remember correctly, there are a couple of flashbacks showing how poorly Wes’ father treated him and yet…There’s nothing much regarding this.

And don’t get me started on how easily Wes’ life turns around in all aspects. Call me a cynic, but I don’t find it all that believable—even if this is a fiction. I’m sorry. :/

There’s also something in the plot that is a little odd when Valerie goes after Wes back to Vegas. I’m not going to give away anything if you’re about to read it, but I couldn’t read this with a straight face. It was entertaining and fun, but it was difficult for me to truly enjoy reading it.

In a few words…

This is a nice serial, but I think it would have been better as a full length novel instead. The plot and characterization lack some depth, but if you’re looking for something light and maybe a bit cliché, then go for it. Good for a beach read. 🙂

RATING:

3


 

Serial RATING:

3

Leave a Reply

