Review: The Wild Side, by Magan Vernon

20320614

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Beautifully Broken Books

Pages: 53

Blurb: 

The Wild Side is the fourth book in the Forever Wild Serial. (This is a six part series with one book releasing every 3 weeks)
Nothing in Valerie Wilder’s life has been the same since she married Wild Wes.
When her two closest work friends drop a bombshell on her, she shouldn’t have really been surprised.
But their unexpected news means she’ll have to answer to her former friend with benefits, Max Green.
And all of this just in time for a visit from her little sister Melanie and her boyfriend John “John Boy” Walden.
Now Valerie just has to figure out to see where walking on the wild side takes her and if staying Mrs. Wild is going to be worth it for her career and her heart.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This is the fourth book in the serial and while it’s still nice to read Wes and Valerie’s story, I don’t see why the author decided to split it into parts to create a serial instead of keeping it a novel.

You see, I don’t see the good thing regarding these short installments when I think about the plot and how it’s evolving. That’s just my opinion, of course.

Other than that, it’s pretty much the same as the previous installments. It’s nice, kind of hot sometimes (but it’s not that hot), and the romance is building more and more even though the characters keep the “love“ word to themselves. (And it’s a good thing, or so I think).

But some things aren’t deep enough, and I’m not exactly talking about the characterization even though I do think the characters are too two dimensional right now. It’s more about the plot here. Nothing much happens that is really climatic. It could be, but it’s not used that way. Or at least that’s how I feel right now.

Yet, there’s something good I wasn’t expecting. Max. He’s a despicable character and yet he brings a little something really interesting. Though, I don’t understand why Valerie reacts that way with him (you have to read to understand), but I do think that he is very much needed. I hope to see more of him in the next installment because the plot needs something more, something that’s going to shaken things up a bit if I don’t want to end up more detached than I already am at the moment.

 

RATING:

3

Leave a comment