Review: The Wild One, by Magan Vernon

20320598

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Category/Genre: Adult contemporary romance

Publisher: Beautifully Broken Books

Pages: 53

Blurb:

The Wild One is the third book in the Forever Wild Serial. (This is a six part series with one book releasing every 3 weeks)

Wes never considered himself a lucky man – until one wild night in Vegas that ended with a marriage to Valerie Wilder. She doesn’t consider herself as lucky, and gives him thirty days to sign the divorce papers, forgetting their marriage every existed. There’s just one problem.

He’s fallen hard for Valerie.

Wes loves everything about the girl he married by mistake, except the fact that he doesn’t feel worthy of her – especially when hedge funder Max Green keeps coming back in the picture. Wes can’t compete with the rich and powerful man who also wants Valerie as his own, but he doesn’t want to lose her. To prove his love for Valerie and save their marriage, Wes is going to fight hard for the woman he loves, putting his wild side behind him to be the man she needs. Before it’s too late.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

Review:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This is the third installment in the  serial Forever Wild. With this one, we reach the halfway mark of the story and I’m starting to get more impatient. I’m going to try and explain myself.

This is the first time we have Wes’ POV. It’s a nice touch and brings a slightly different dynamic to the story. Obviously, now that we know what’s on Wes mind I see him differently even though his POV doesn’t sound that thrilling at times.

Do I like Wes? Yes, I do. I’m not in love with him and he’s not my favorite male lead character, but he’s nice and still has potential.

That being said, I think he’s fallen for Valerie way too easily and too fast. I always have a hard time when that happens in books. Here, I think it contradicts a little bit with how he went to marrying Valerie in the first place. He wanted out of Vegas and she seemed like the perfect help for it. I would have enjoyed a little bit more doubts on his part regarding the marriage and his feelings. I’m not saying the author isn’t showing that Wes has some inner debates and is a little lost sometimes, but it’s not really gripping. And I don’t buy it completely.

We see little of Valerie in this installment so I don’t have much to say about her here. Though, she’s the same, but now that it’s Wes’ POV we’re reading, she appears a little less easy to grasp. That’s when it’s obvious that she’s better at hiding her emotions than I first thought. Or maybe the characterization isn’t deep enough.

Wes and Valerie form a nice couple, but it’s not necessarily thrilling at this point. Yet, I look forward to the next installment.

RATING:

3 to 3.5

Leave a Reply

