Review: Wild Hearts, by Magan Vernon

19181084

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Category/Genre: Adult contemporary romance

Publisher: Beautifully Broken Books

Pages: 53

Blurb:

Wild Hearts is the second book in the Forever Wild Serial. (This is a six part series with one book releasing every 3 weeks)

Going back to Chicago with her accidental husband should have been torture for Valerie. But when Wes has her bent over the first class bathroom sink, torture is the last thing on her mind.

After landing back in Chicago reality sets in. So does the glaring eye of her roommate, and her former friends with benefits, Max, who seems to be a lot friendlier since Wes came in the picture.

After a meeting with a divorce lawyer, Valerie and Wes find out that they have thirty days for both of them to sign the papers, ending their quickie marriage.

But Valerie doesn’t know if she wants to move on or forever stay Mrs. Wild.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

Review:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This is the second installment and while it’s still an enjoyable read and is still very nice and fun, I like this one less than the first.

I still don’t know Wes and don’t fully know Valerie. Their relationship is still very much on the physical attraction and that’s fine, but I don’t see or buy anything else. The fact that Valerie has an inner debate regarding her building feelings for him has me bothered. You see, I think it’s too sudden. I can buy the insane and intense physical attraction, but not anything beyond that. There’s nothing here to make it happen so soon. A building friendship and “attachment“ would be better.

Also, some things are very repetitive. Wes keeps on saying that Valerie is the kind of woman who knows what she wants. Good, but no need to say it again when it’s been said a few chapters before.

Valerie’s thoughts are mostly going in circle here and I don’t really see an evolution of any sort. Maybe I should look harder. :/

The plot thickens a little bit now that there’s another man in the mix (I’m not going to write anything else if you want to read this book), but I find it a little odd. Somehow, he comes from nowhere and right now he feels more like the excuse to add some trouble in the mix than anything else. And this new character doesn’t make me like Valerie much, incidentally.

Valerie has more issues regarding how she sees herself than I first thought and it’s weighing things down a bit. I hope it’s not too much of a big deal in the next few installments.

I’m still looking forward to the next book, but I’m more wary than before. I have high expectations!

RATING:

3

Leave a Reply

