Review: Flirting On Ice, by Veronica Forand and Susan Scott Shelley

23453912

Part of a series? No.

Category/Genre: Contemporary Romance, Sports Romance.

Publisher: Entangled: Lovestruck

Pages: 100

Blurb:

A satisfying category romance from Entangled’s Lovestruck imprint…

Mr. Perfect has found his kind of trouble…

Professional hockey player Zac Elliott is in top form. He’s having the best season of his career, the local fans can’t get enough of him, and he’s in the middle of the most successful contract negotiations of his career. When the sexy little spark between Zac and the team owner’s daughter blazes to life, no matter how forbidden, he can’t resist.

Philanthropist Heather Ryan can’t keep her hands off of Zac. If her father finds out, it could end Zac’s career and ruin her reputation. What they share is deeply passionate and intensely private…until the press exposes their illicit relationship.

Now the fans have viciously turned against Heather, Zac’s game is faltering, and even his team has deserted him. The only way out of the penalty box is for Zac to play hockey like life—and love—depends on it…

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review. 

Flirting On Ice is a sweet and a little bit sappy hockey romance novella. It’s a nice read, quick and great when you’re in between books.

I’m always a sucker for hockey romance stories. I don’t love them all, but I often have a good time reading these stories and this one didn’t disappoint. 🙂

I didn’t have any expectations before reading this novella and I’m glad because I don’t know if my enjoyment would have been the same otherwise. You see, this novella is sweet, but there’s not much depth here. I’ll hand it to you, it’s a novella so it’s a rather short story, but I wouldn’t have minded it if the characters were a tiny bit more developed and if some scenes, events, conflicts would have been more developed, too. I have a feeling that this story could have been spectacular then.

But I did enjoy Zac and Heather’s story. They’re cute together and while I didn’t have much time for the build up like I often like, I still enjoyed their sweet chemistry—though I think the authors wanted to make us feel the urgency, not just the sweetness.

What else…

Some things in the plot aren’t exactly well-introduced or well-put together to add some suspense. I saw some things coming from miles away and it dampened my reading pleasure a bit. But I’m being picky here.

The writing flows well and as I said, this novella is a quick read. I enjoyed this short interlude between books. If you’re looking for a sweet romance, a quick read then maybe this one is for you.

 

RATING:

4

Leave a Reply

