Review: Filthy Rich, by Dawn Ryder

18509612

Part of a series? Not really, but there is a book featuring these characters’ best friends.

Category/Genre: Contemporary, Erotica, romance, suspense.

Publisher: SourceBooks Casablanca

Pages: 288

Blurb:

SHE’S FIGHTING FOR CONTROL…
Celeste Connor swore that she’d never be a victim again. After the hell of her abusive ex, the last thing she needs is to be under another man’s thumb. But when she catches the eye of fiercely dominant Nartan Lupan at her best friend’s wedding, Celeste finds herself drawn into a glittering world of wealth and power that has her body aching and her mind reeling.

HE’S FIGHTING TO MAKE HER HIS…
Nartan is a filthy rich businessman who works hard, plays harder, and doesn’t take no for an answer-and he wants Celeste with a hunger he’s never before felt. He’ll do whatever it takes to have her. But Nartan didn’t expect that he’d want still more…

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

I was expecting a story with many sex scenes, but unfortunately even though these scenes are great for the most part, it took me way too long to get in the story. So much so that I thought I wouldn’t finish reading it.

You see, I don’t have as much time to read as I used and that’s probably why I’m getting more and more demanding. Here, I wanted to fall for the main characters right away, but it didn’t happen. The dialogues aren’t flowing as well as I would have liked, the descriptions are sometimes breaking the rhythm of the story and the plot itself takes a very long time to truly get interesting.

I love reading about characters very blatantly attracted to each other, I enjoy the back and forth characters can experience, but it needs to be interesting and serves the characterization and moves along the plot. Even in a very small, seemingly insignificant way. Here, all I could focus on are Celeste’s same thoughts circling. And when I say same thoughts, I mean SAME. Almost word for word sometimes. I still don’t know why I obsessed over this, but it drove me mad at one point.

I’m also sad that we don’t have more of Nartan’s POV. His POV is interesting and I think it’s his POV that convinced me to keep reading. Unfortunately, the author barely used his voice in the book.

Speaking of POVs… I don’t like when there are more than two POVs in a book. It’s a personal pet peeve, so I’m sorry for pointing this out and ignore this part of my review if you like stories with more than two POVs.

In this book, while most of it is told from Celeste’s POV and a little bit of Nartan’s POV, there are also two more POVs. They’re introduced close to the end of the book and it broke the tension that the author was trying to build. I don’t want to spoil you any more so I’ll spare you, but I don’t think it helped the plot, the atmosphere and the narration. Again, it’s just my opinion.

Other than that, yes the chemistry between Celeste and Nartan is well-described. Yes, I’ve felt the heat in some scenes and yes it was entertaining, but I was tired really fast of the same thing happening; Celeste trying to push away Nartan or trying to leave and Nartan always chasing her and convincing her to stay because she wants him too. It can be fun, but there’s basically no variation of the same thing, not for a while.

 

RATING:

3

 

Leave a Reply

