Review: The Consequences of Loving Colton, by Rachel Van Dyken

23381448

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category/Genre: Contemporary Romance, Humor, Comedy

Publisher: Skyscape

Pages: 286

Blurb:

My name is Milo Caro and I have a confession to make.

I’ve been in love with Colton Mathews since I was five. He should have known that sharing a cookie with a sugar obsessed little monster would do the trick–it sealed his fate. So really, the fact that he’s sporting a black eye, a limp, almost got ran over by a car, and was nearly responsible for another person’s death? Right. HIs fault. Not mine.

I made a pact with myself–this weekend would be different. I’d come home for my brothers wedding, smile, and Colton would naturally melt into my arms, we’d get married have five kids, live in a house by the river, and get a dog named scratch (clearly I’ve thought this through).

What really happened? I punched my brother in the face, Colton kissed me and apologized, I lied about having a boyfriend, oh and everyone wants to meet the mystery man.

They say laughter always comes before insanity–ha, ha. All I wanted was my brother’s best friend…instead I’m sitting in prison.

Let this be a lesson to you all…life rarely happens the way you want it to.

Damn cookie.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

 

This is the first book in the series, but can be read as a standalone. The next installments will feature a different couple.

 

It’s not the first book I’ve read written by Rachel Van Dyken, but it’s probably the first one I didn’t like reading. Believe me, I’m more disappointed in myself than  in the book right now.

Let me explain why I hesitated finishing the book…

 

I don’t mind reading romantic comedies, I don’t mind when said romantic comedies are openly silly and a little bit over the top. But here, I’m sorry to say that it’s WAY over the top.

At first, I was having mixed feelings, but still I didn’t have an issue with the story, but when it hit the halfway mark, I almost decided to quit. Though, I’m glad I pushed on, not because the book redeemed itself to me, but because I hate writing a review for a book I haven’t finished.

 

You see, here the comic relief is not subtle and sounds downright stupid at times. Really. I had a feeling the characters were not behaving according their age and were too much like caricatures instead of actual characters. This type of humor is probably not for me.

 

Yes, I smiled a few times, yes some things are funny and the writing is still flowing, sharp and good, but the plot itself is too all over the place, the sub-plots almost not flowing well enough and the characters have all the same voice. With the same silly behavior that got tiring real fast. Maybe I wasn’t in there right mood, but I do think the author went too overboard and wanted to do too much here.

 

The idea, the premise, is good and I do think it could have been an amazing romantic comedy for me if only the characters would have been a little bit more down to earth and if the plot itself would have been more believable.  I know it’s fiction, but I like it when I believe in a book, in characters, to a certain extent. That’s when I usually let myself be swept off. Here, I just couldn’t.

 

You see, it’s a matter of personal taste because it’s obvious so many readers love this book and many more will love it too. I don’t think this series is for me and I will probably not read the next installment that will feature Max, Milo’s best friend. Though, I do think his story is going to be even crazier!

 

What do you think of this story? Am I the only one who didn’t like it?

 

RATING:

20140103-095135.jpg

Leave a Reply

