Review: Hard Ride #3, by Opal Carew

25222534

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No, it’s the last installment.

Category/Genre: Adult, erotica, contemporary romance

Publisher: St Martin’s Press

Pages: 64

Blurb:

Liv never expected to rekindle her romance with her college boyfriend, who’s now a hard-bodied, tattooed biker. And she never imagined sharing herself with his entire gang.

Shock can feel Liv pulling away from him, just like she did all those years ago. Her lies are a painful reminder that she’s not ready for anything more than a good time in bed, but he’s not willing to let her go. He lost her once, and it’s never happening again. Faced with losing the one thing he’s always wanted, he must prove to Liv that what they have is more than physical and that his heart is in her hands. But is she ready to give him hers?

This is part three of HARD RIDE, a three part novel.

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

 

This is the last part and while the second part started to win me over, this third and last part convinced me that this novel—cut into three parts—is not for me.

 

I can see why other readers will probably rave about this story, but I can’t help but think and point out the things I think are negatively impacting this story. I’m really sorry for writing such a review.

 

The first thing that comes to mind now that I’m finished with Liv and Shock’s story is that the author seems to have tried to put a lot of what we find these days in this genre of books. Shock is an alpha male, is a sweetheart, is also bordering on the dominant life style and yet can be pretty vanilla. He’s also rich, is a biker, used to be the son of a big shot CEO… You see, in  a way it’s too much for ONE guy. It’s my opinion.

 

Then, Liv is lacking depth. When I think about it, she overcomes her hangups quite easily and rather drastically. I’m not really convinced and to be honest, I can’t even feel much of anything between Shock and Liv now. There’s sexual tension, but it’s like the author used the steamy scenes to fill in the story. There’s no real outside conflicts and the only one disappeared in a matter of a couple of pages! It was supposed to be intense, supposed to bring a layer of angst/drama and show how closer Liv and Shock are getting. In the end, it fell rather short for me.

 

The secondary characters are more present in this last part and I like them, but they’re more decorative than anything else. It’s too bad because I think they would have completed this “biker“ world a lot better.

 

In the end, the plot isn’t that developed, the characterization is rather poor and not digging deep enough and the sex scenes aren’t that thrilling to read. For me, it’s overall a miss.

 

RATING:

2.5 to 3

Leave a Reply

