Review: Hard Ride #2, by Opal Carew

25222521

Part of a series? Yes

Cliffhanger? Yes

Category/Genre: Adult, contemporary, romance, (erotica?)

Publisher: St Martin’s Press

Pages: 71

Blurb:

Liv never expected to find herself trapped in an alley facing a band of rough bikers. And she certainly never expected to see him again…

When Shock encounters an old flame in a dark alley, it sends him spiraling. She’s still as beautiful as ever, but she seems to have fallen on hard times since college, and he’s concerned about the risks she seems to take. In order to keep her safe and finally have her for himself, he makes a sensual deal: his help for her complete submission. But will Liv be able to let go of the past and fall for the hard rider?

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review. 

 

This is the second installment in the serial and starts exactly where we left Liv and Shock. While the first installment failed at winning me over, this second installment succeeded. 🙂

 

You know, maybe I have been taking this story too seriously at first, maybe I have been expecting too much, but now that my exceptions are lowered, I have opened up a lot more to Liv and Shock’s story. It’s a good distraction.

 

That being said, I still think the depth is lacking and the plot isn’t that interesting. I’d even go and say that it’s something I’ve seen a lot. A lot. Yet, it works quite well and I’m looking forward to reading the last part, so that means it’s working.

 

The secondary characters are interesting and not necessarily clichés. The chemistry between Liv and Shock is there, but the sex scenes are not exactly that captivating. It’s my opinion, so there’s a good chance that you’re going to find these scenes h-o-t.

 

The writing is still flowing and while I think the author isn’t taking much risks with this plot and these characters, she’s created a story perfect when you’re looking for something fast paced, short and when you want something to unwind a little.

 

In a few words…

 

I’ve enjoyed reading this second installment a lot more than the first one. I still think that the story and characters aren’t that compelling and/or thrilling, but they still work. There are a few things we often see in books in the same genre, but once I was able to distance myself some and lower my expectations, I was able to enjoy the story a lot more.

 

What do you think of Shock? And the other biker mens? 

 

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

