Review: Reft, by Libby Austin

24467455

Part of a series? No.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary

Publisher: Infinity & Beyond Publishing

Pages: 188

Blurb:

For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction. ~
Newton’s Third Law of Motion

Brandon “Brand” Carmichael’s life was the stuff dreams were made of…too bad it was an illusion. As a guitarist for Inert Motion, Brand traveled the world, performing with his brothers in all but blood. He never stopped moving all the while his mind played in a never ending loop. Now outside influences have changed the band’s course, leaving Brand’s life void of the balance he craved. Once again, his dream had become a recurring nightmare. Brand coped the only way he knew how; retreat into solitude.

Magdalena “Layna” Delacroix had achieved the long sought goal of her Ph.D. in Psychology, but success came at a high cost: over one hundred thousand dollars in debt. After being presented with the opportunity to fulfill her desire to help someone in the aftermath of tragedy, along with earning enough money to clear her debt and start a psychology practice of her own, Layna had to balance the means against the outcome. Could she be the force to stop the downward spiral of someone who refused to seek help?

Neither Brand nor Layna expected the reaction they had to one another. It was the opposite of everything they sought.

Could Layna live a lie while pushing Brand to live in the truth?

Would Brand forgive her for committing one unforgivable sin?

Or was he branded by destiny to be…

Reft

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.
It’s strange how some books are difficult to rate and review. I can’t say I didn’t enjoy this book, but I can’t say I truly loved reading it. I’m in between.
The thing I love in Reft is how it’s not so much a romance, but a character in-depth self-discovery. In term of romance, it’s not very deep or even convincing in my opinion, but the whole thing regarding Brandon is a lot more interesting and that’s why I kept reading.
Of course, I picked up on what Brandon was hiding almost right away, but some things really surprised me, so much so that it ruined the feeling I had of it being “real“. I know it’s a fiction, but some stories are calling for something “believable“ and here I couldn’t buy the few chapters leading to the end.
But even if I like what the author did with Brandon and how he’s portrayed (most of the time), I still had a hard time loving him and Layna. It’s not even because I was expecting a romance, but it’s more because I couldn’t follow the evolution regarding Brandon’s issues. I would have loved some setbacks to better put on display his evolution, the work he had to do on himself to finally open up. You have to read the book if you want this review to make sense. 😉
What can I say about Layna…
She is a good enough supporting character, but I can’t see why Brandon is so drawn to her. She’s nice, has her own little quirks quite cute and even funny, but that’s all. Once again, the connection between Brandon and Layna is more like a friendship than anything else. It’s lukewarm at best. Of course, it’s not because I wanted some smut, but it’s just that in a way the emotions throughout this book are rather mild when the story is asking for something a lot more intense. That’s how I would have loved to experience it, at least.
The plot itself is good even though too much happen off page. The last few chapters are too shorts, show too little of Brandon’s “new life“ and yes, it disappoints me.
But in a way, even though some dialogues don’t seem natural at all, I had a hard time putting the book down. I wanted to know what would happen next, what would become of Brandon. Even though I found the main characters too immature regarding their ages, even though some dialogues bothered me because not enough natural according to me, I wanted to finish this book. And, I can honestly say that the fact that the main characters seem immature at first, it’s well-done regarding what we know later on.
But, I have to tell you something; I’m pretty sure that you will enjoy reading this book. I think I will be one of the few a little bit disappointed, but I see the appeal of this book. After all, I had a hard time putting it down!
It’s a very different book, a different story and if you’re not looking for a real romance novel, then you should give this one a shot.
RATING:
3 to 3.5
3 thoughts on “Review: Reft, by Libby Austin

Leave a Reply

