Review: Opening Act, by Suleikha Snyder

22054507

Part of a series? No.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Entangled Publishing – Select

Pages: 85

Blurb: 

Reporter Saroj Shah has been in love with bass player and bartender Adam Harper since her first day of college—seven years ago. Forever thinking of her as part-friend and part-little sister, he’s just been too blind, and too clueless, to see it. Until one pivotal moment pulls her into the spotlight.

The moment Saroj steps on stage, Adam sees his friend in a new light. He can’t take his mind off of her and realizes they could make beautiful music together. But seven years is a long time and Saroj is ready to move on. Adam will have to hit the right note if he wants to prove to Saroj he was worth the wait.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review. 

 

This is a novella and while I think there is enough material to make a series to feature some of the secondary characters, I don’t think it’s a series.
I didn’t like reading this novella as much as I expected. It’s an easy read, short enough to read quickly, but the characters didn’t win me over. At all.
The writing itself is good. I think sometimes there are too much inner musings and some dialogues are rather poor and going back to the EXACT same things, same words said between Saroj and Adam. I wouldn’t mind if the characters were struggling with the new development in their relationship if only it made the plot move along and if it added to the characterization. But I don’t think it does here.
Saroj is a good main character and I like that she’s not falling in Adam’s arms right away, even though she wants to and even though it’s something she’s been waiting for for years. She stands up for herself and it’s nice. As I wrote above, I would have loved it more if things weren’t so repetitive, but the idea is good.
Adam is mostly clueless and even though the author keeps writing that Adam is a nice guy, I don’t like him. Some things are a little contradictory about him. It’s said that he’s never noticed Saroj, yet it’s also said that he’s always thought he wasn’t good enough for her.
I don’t know…In a way I don’t get both characters and I think that’s why I couldn’t really get into it fully.
This is a nice novella, but I will not remember it in a few weeks. I can’t say I’m not disappointed.
RATING:
2.5 to 3
Leave a Reply

