Review: Yield to Me, by Sarah Castille

20985612

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult

Genre: Contemporary “romance”.

Self-published

Pages: 106

Blurb:

No-holds-barred attraction…

Amateur MMA fighter, Marcy Foster is determined to win the state championship. But dark secrets and a broken trust mean there’s one submission she just can’t master. Fortunately Club Excelsior has hired a coach who knows all the right moves.

Sexy, confident and commanding, fight consultant Jax demands control, both in and out of the ring. But once he has Marcy against the ropes, Jax knows he’s in too deep. He has the dominance to give her what she needs, but once he unleashes her hidden passions, there’s no going back.

Under Jax’s skilled hands, Marcy submits to her deepest desires. But when her personal and professional worlds collide, she is forced to face a brutal truth — yielding to her darkest needs may be the one thing that costs her the fight…and her heart.

*This novella was originally published in the New York Times bestselling anthology, Unraveled, and now contains 50% new content*

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.
This is the first installment in the Club Excelsior series. It’s a novella of a good length and I can’t tell you if the next installment will feature the same couple of another one. It’s unclear and while there is enough material for more with the couple in this novella, the ending could be satisfying too.
I enjoyed reading Yield to Me, but my interest went up and down throughout the book. I started intrigued, then was hooked and then was “bored“. It kept circling like this, just like the plot that was pretty much the same thing happening again and again without much of a resolution or evolution. At least, that’s how it feels like for me.
The writing is flowing quite well, the dialogues are good and the descriptions while scarce, are efficient. Actually, I’m pretty sure I will read another book by this author because I think the writing works pretty well. My issues is mainly with the plot here.
The plot while entertaining considering that it deals with a female fighter having to deal with her issues regarding her natural instinct in being a submissive in her sex life clashing with her career as a fighter. It’s a fun take on such a story and it’s different from what I’ve read so far in the genre. That’s a good thing, but that’s where it ends.
The plot doesn’t evolve much.
It’s a novella and while it’s a rather long novella, it’s still a novella and I think the author shouldn’t spend so long on the exact same issue. Between Jax and Marcy the chemistry is there and the sex scenes are interesting even though not that hot in my opinion, but their relationship, the depth of their attraction and the conflicts that arise (or should arise) aren’t enough depicted. That’s probably why I think there’s not enough evolution throughout the book and that’s why my interest dwindled after a little while.
Marcy and Jax are interesting characters, but I think they’re not enough developed. In a way, I think this story should have been better as a novel instead. These two main characters have a lot to tell and yet I think they don’t have the time to face their inner conflicts, face the consequences of some of their choices. I would have loved to see the characters having more issues, see them struggling. Some ellipses leave out a part of it. That’s why I have a difficult time emphasizing with them.
But I look forward to the secondary characters stories because the author manages to create a tight knit world in the Excelsior Club and it’s really a good point. I believe in these friendships even though there are many characters in an installment rather short considering that it’s a novella.
In a few words…
I enjoyed reading this novella, I think the plot isn’t moving much and the characters aren’t’ shown enough depth, but I will read the next installment. The author has a flowing writing that makes me want to read more from her and I think there are enough material to make a great series.
What do you think of Jax?
RATING:
3 to 3.5
Leave a Reply

