Review: No Limits, by Lori Foster

20821550

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance, sports

Publisher: Harlequin HQN

Pages: 432

Blurb:

A surprise inheritance reunites a mixed martial arts fighter with the woman he’s never forgotten in the first in a smoldering new series from New York Times bestselling author Lori Foster…

Cannon Colter is quintessential hero material: chiseled jawline, shredded body—the works. He’s also the guy who rescued Yvette Sweeny from kidnappers, only to put an end to her romantic dreams. These days, she’s older, smarter, determined to face whatever life throws her way. Even the prospect of sharing a house and business with Cannon.

Cannon knew Yvette wanted him three years ago. But she was young—and some things are worth waiting for. Thrown together by her grandfather’s legacy, he realizes how deep Yvette’s scars really go, and how much danger lurks in their quiet town. As pent-up desire explodes between them, protecting her becomes the only fight that matters. And he’ll break all the rules to do it…

ADD IT TO GOODREADS


REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.
No Limits is the first book in the series, but it can be read as a standalone. (If you’re interested, there is a prequel novella available, but it features another couple).
I’m a fan of fighters romance novels. Some are really good, some not that up my alley, but this one is good.
I’m not going to lie, it took me a few chapters to get into the story and to like the characters, but once I was in, I had a hard time putting the book down. Cannon and Yvette are great characters and I couldn’t help but root for them together. They’re just so cute, with enough heat to spice things up a little bit.
But even though I enjoy the characters and I absolutely love the group of friends in this series, I don’t understand why there are Armie’s POV and even Rissy’s—respectively Cannon’s best friend and his sister. These POVs come late in the story and aren’t taking too much space, but to be honest, I’m not fond of POVs from secondary characters thrown in a book featuring one couple, here Cannon and Yvette. I’m more old school, enjoying two POVs at most. Yet, the author did a fabulous job at blending these two POVs in the rest of the story without disrupting the rhythm and the plot.
The plot itself is interesting. You have a great romance that while starting fast is evolving at a great pace, you have some suspense and a few mysteries to keep me guessing and some comic relief scenes to seal the deal.
Honestly, this book surprised me because it’s more than just a romance and the plot and subplots keep moving along, never lagging. Of course, I think some things are maybe not fully explored regarding the mysteries (I can’t tell you anything or else it’d be a huge spoiler), but I think the ending is coming quite fast, probably too fast for me considering that I didn’t have enough time to get scared for the characters, wonder what would happen or even understand the purpose of it all. In a way, I think some more hints here and there throughout the story would have been welcomed and an ending more drown out would have emphasized the mysteries and suspense added to the story.
But even though I have some negative things to say about this book, I had a hard time putting it down, I swooned over Cannon, melted at reading about Yvette and Cannon’s relationship and fell for this group of amazing friends. Of course, I’m going to read the next installment featuring another couple.
In a few words, it’s a great fighters romance novel with an interesting “thriller” vibe added here and there. It took me a few chapters to really enjoy the characters and the story, but once I did, I couldn’t stop reading.
What do you think of Cannon? Which fighter’s story are you eagerly waiting for? 
RATING:
4
Leave a Reply

