Review: Break Me, by Autumn Stark

19483859

Part of a series? Yes

Cliffhanger? No

Category: Adult, erotica

Genre: Contemporary romance

Publisher: Books With Benefits Press

Pages: 158

Blurb:

Abigail Stevens, an efficient and no-nonsense editor for one of the biggest names in the romance novel industry, has a big problem. She’s been desperately in love with Anthony Tate, Mr. Romance-Writer himself, for the last four years. She’s settled for friendship and professional success for the last four years, but now the sexy writer needs something more from her and she can’t find a reason to refuse.

Tony Tate has built a career centered on his identity as America’s most romantic writer. That identity does not include a debauched temper tantrum in the aftermath of his very public break-up with his on-again, off-again girlfriend. Tony has known that Abby has had the hots for him since the moment they met, but when his Plain Jane best friend and controlling editor ends up being his only option to exorcise his demons and pent-up sexual frustration, he can’t wait to break her prim and proper shell.

As Tony and Abby push each other farther than they’ve ever gone before, the question becomes, who will break whom?

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.
This book is the first one in a series, but it can be read as a standalone.
When I saw this one on Netgalley, I was intrigued. Reading the blurb, I was expecting something that would blow my mind and keep me riveted from page one to finish. Unfortunately, while I do think it’s a good distraction, I didn’t enjoy Break Me like I was expecting to.
The premise is really great. You have a young editor and her romantic author who is a man, but who doesn’t have a single romantic bone in his body. That sounds like something fun with the potential for some very hot chemistry. While the hot factor is undeniable, the fun isn’t all there and the depth is lacking. It’s my opinion, so please don’t hate me. I’m trying to explain what I feel.
I don’t mind stories with lots of sex scenes and little depth, but I’m getting tired of these. I love it when the sex scenes are insanely hot, numerous and frequent throughout the book if it serves the characterization and the plot. Here, while I get the need for these scenes packed and pilled up at the beginning of the book regarding the plot and how it’s built, it still turned off pretty fast.
I didn’t have enough time to get to know the characters, to understand their friendship and dynamic before they were having a marathon of sex. Also, I think it didn’t help that I hated Tony for the better part of this book. Really. And Abby came off as too weak for my taste. She redeems herself, but it comes late, just like for Tony.
You see, if the characterization would have been more emphasized, then maybe I would have been more lenient with these characters.
Also, their romance while sometimes entertaining, is not moving along all that much. You have twice big things happening that make it jump start quite drastically, and then it’s stalled again. I usually wouldn’t mind, but since I’ve started caring for Tony and Abby late in the story, it bothered me. Also, the whole sub-plot regarding Joyce doesn’t serve any real purpose. The potential is there, but it’s not exploited.
The writing is not bad, but I do think some dialogues could have been better without the repetitions of names. And I would have loved more descriptions regarding their feelings, their emotions. Once again, it’s my personal taste.
But don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a bad novel. I’m more disappointed than I thought I would be because the premise appealed to me a lot.
RATING:
2.5 to 3
Leave a Reply

