Review: No More Talking, by Rhian Cahill

23007911

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult, (erotica)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Samhain Publishing

Pages: 78

Blurb:

Zac Moreland knew he shouldn’t act on the sizzling attraction between him and his best friend’s little sister. But act he did, and he can’t forget that one night he let the heat between them burn.

Now, after months of doing everything in his power to avoid a repeat performance, he’s ready to admit defeat—and ready to go up in flames all over again.

Freddie never understood why Zac gave her the hottest night of her life and then the cold shoulder. But what she does know is that her eyes are wide open when it comes to Zac, and he better understand that this time she isn’t settling for anything less than everything.

Warning: Two people learning to be more than friends and a big brother ready to spill blood.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

 

This is the first novella in the Hearts Are Wild series. Apparently, and I didn’t know it going in, the characters are introduced in another series. The group of friends we briefly see in this novella are featured in another series and while I wouldn’t mind it usually, here it bothered me.

 

Considering this is a novella there are no filler scenes and everything is happening successively. There are not break and it’s a good thing, but unfortunately I felt pretty detached while reading.

 

I think that the fact that we don’t have the whole background of the main characters (Zac and Freddie), knowing that they’re introduced in another series, I missed the getting to know the characters. I feel like there’s something missing. It truly bothered me while reading and I don’t think you can truly enjoy reading this novella without reading the series in which West and Kelsey are featured. There should be a warning or else there will probably be readers disappointed like I am.

 

The writing itself flows pretty well even though it was sometimes odd when POVs switched from Freddie to Zac. I couldn’t completely feel a huge difference between them. Also, Zac is supposedly fighting his attraction for Freddie, but it doesn’t feel like it. I’m glad the fact that she’s his best friend sister is mentioned several times because otherwise I would have forgotten. :/

 

Then, you have the sex scenes. They are pretty hot and intense and well-written, but they are numerous. I enjoy reading erotica stories and I don’t mind reading several sex scenes in books, but I expect them to complement the characterization and even the plot. Here, I think some of the characterization is lacking and the room that should have been used for said characterization is used for more scorching scenes.

 

Finally, some of the timeline confused me, but I don’t know if it’s because I have an ARC.

 

I don’t think I will read the next ones in this series, but I will probably check out other books written by this author because I can see myself enjoying another story and other characters.

 

RATING:

20140103-095135.jpg

Leave a Reply

