Review: The Line Between, by Tamsyn Bester

23346285

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: New Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Self-published

Pages: 254

Blurb:

There’s a fine line between love and hate, so fine that you don’t know you’ve lost balance until it’s too late.
I’m not sure exactly when I lost my balance, all I know is that he was to blame.
Dane Winters.
The boy who’d spent most of his life hating me for reasons I never understood.

** ** ** ** ** **

It was no secret that I hated her, but only I knew why.
She was off-limits.
And then our separate worlds collided with one tragedy.
It wasn’t her fault, I knew that, but I wanted her to hurt the way I did, and I needed someone to blame. She was an easy target.
Kennedy Monroe.
The girl I’d picked on all our lives.
And the woman I barely tolerated.
Until the line between love and hate was no longer visible…

*New Adult Contemporary Romance*
*Due to mature content this book is not suitable for readers younger than 18*

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

 

The Line Between is the first book of the series with the same name, but it can be read as a standalone.

 

First, I have to talk about the cover, because it’s what first attracted me. I’m in love with this cover and I think it fits to perfection both the story AND the title. I’m glad because when I first saw this book on Netgalley, I hesitated considering that the blurb doesn’t say much regarding the plot and the characters. I’m happy that I took a chance on this book. 🙂

 

Dane and Kennedy are a hot mess. Because of the Winters family and the Monroe family feud, they’ve always been at each other’s throat. But as I kept reading this novel, I soon realized that the tension, the sparks, the contradictory feelings of these two went beyond the family feud. The author does a wonderful job at showing the complexity of Dane and Kennedy’s feelings and relationship.

 

If you’re not fond of the hot and cold kind of trope, then this one may not be for you. It’s all about their issues, their preconceived idea of each other getting in the way, and something far more tragic that added to their already difficult relationship. I actually bought this right away even though I would have enjoyed to see a lot more of their families and of the family feud that supposedly runs from generation to generation, I couldn’t put down this book.

 

I loved reading how Dane and Kennedy started to get closer, mostly against anything and everything that should have kept them at arms’ length. It was touching and oh so hot! Seriously, I think I have a soft spot for Dane. 😉

 

The author’s writing is flowing really well and she is able to show the college life and a wonderful group of friends that is entertaining to follow. That being said, I think some characters don’t have enough purpose in the story. The first one that comes to mind is Chase. His role is not enough developed and used, I think.

 

The plot is one of a great love story that swept me off almost immediately. It’s common in a way, but the set of characters, the voice of the story and the chemistry between Dane and Kennedy make it entertaining and it also kept me on my toes.

 

The ending is rushed and the epilogue maybe too short for my taste, but I’m often unhappy with endings, finding them often rushed. But it didn’t impact my reading pleasure, so don’t hesitate and pick this book as your next read. I’m pretty sure Dane is going to make you swoon. And I’m sure you’re going to have to fan yourself. 😉

 

RATING:

4

Leave a Reply

