Review: Everything Has Changed, by Mia Kayla

22559484

Part of a series? No.

Category: New Adult, but can also be read as an adult book.

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Self-published

Pages: 304

Blurb:

Imagine finding the love of your life at the age of six.

Bliss Carrington did.

Bliss has known Jimmy Brason since first grade. He took on the role of the big brother Bliss never had, breaking Bliss out of her shy shell, encouraging her to have fun in high school, and pushing her to live her life to the fullest. They have always been friends—until one day, Bliss wanted more. Now seeing women everywhere swooning over Jimmy, head quarterback of the New York Cougars, is enough to drive her to madness.

Jimmy has been in love with Bliss forever, but she doesn’t know and she can never find out. In all the craziness of his fast track to fame and money, Bliss is the one person who has kept him sane. He firmly believes that history repeats itself and with his tainted past, he’s afraid that he’s fated to hurt her if he allows himself to follow his heart.

Bliss has watched Jimmy grow from a boy into a man, and it’s not fair that someone else will get to keep him when she knows in her heart that he only belongs to her.

When they tiptoe on the edge of love, can their friendship remain intact with both of them ignoring the rumblings that’s threatening to explode?

EVERYTHING HAS CHANGED is a story of love, loss, and longing for the one you grew up loving.

 

ADD TO GOODREADS

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

 

This is a standalone novel and I’m in love with it. I still have a huge smile on my face. It really is a great contemporary romance novel, filled with emotions, wonderful lines and a set of characters that I couldn’t help but fall in love with.

 

I love friends turned to lovers stories when they’re well-done, and this one is, in my opinion, amazing. The romance is very slow to start, but in a way it’s ever present. Jimmy and Bliss are the best of friends and you don’t have to wait several pages to pick on their dynamic and Bliss’s true feelings for this gorgeous and sweet football player.

 

I absolutely love how the author describes this friendship, I love how she shows us how deep their attachment to each other runs and how much their lives are entwined. For example, I think the “flashback“ scenes are smartly introduced and add more to the depth of Jimmy and Bliss’ relationship. It’s almost as if the characterization is effortless and done naturally. It flows with the plot, with the dialogues.

 

But while there are some lightness to this story, emotions run rampant. My heart had hurt for them, but it also sped up significantly. I went through as many emotions as Bliss did and I lost myself in this book, rooting for Jimmy and Bliss. It’s been a while since I’ve last felt so invested in characters. Ah… It feels really good. 🙂

 

The plot itself is great. You have everything from long distance, family drama, hang ups and issues to the fear of losing a once in a lifetime kind of friendship. Everything is covered in this book and not in an overwhelming or over the top way. Once again, it flows. The author mastered her story and her characters, creating a heart-warming, sometimes heart-breaking love story, mainly based on a wonderful friendship.

 

The writing is a perfect match for Bliss’ voice in this story told from her POV. I was never bored and I didn’t have to wait a few chapters to be hooked. Bliss is a character I easily identified myself with. I understand her, I get her reactions, her fears and her feelings. She is a good lead character, one I enjoyed following.

 

If there’s one thing I think is a little rushed it’s the moment when they finally open up to each other, and also the resolution at the end of the book. I wouldn’t have minded a little more details, but to be honest with you, I don’t even know if it’s because I enjoyed reading this book so much that I didn’t want it to end or if it’s an objective comment. Yes, I really, really enjoyed reading this book.

 

What do you think of Jimmy? He’s one of my new book boyfriends. 😉

 

RATING:

4.5 to 20131028-173205.jpg

 

20131028-173229.jpg

Leave a Reply

