Review: Bad Romeo, by Leisa Rayven

21411058

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? You could say that.

Category: New Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Pages: 417

Blurb:

While performing the greatest love story of all time, they discovered one of their own…

Cassie Taylor was just another acting student with big dreams at her prestigious performing arts college, then she met Ethan Holt. She was the good girl actress. He was the bad boy on campus. But one fated casting choice for Romeo and Juliet changed it all. Like the characters they were playing on stage, Cassie and Ethan’s epic romance seemed destined. Until it ended in tragedy when he shattered her heart.

Now they’ve made it to Broadway where they’re reunited as romantic leads once again, and their passionate scenes force them to confront the heartbreaking lows and pulse-pounding highs of their intense college affair. For Ethan, losing Cassie was his biggest regret, and he’s determined to redeem himself. But for Cassie, even though Ethan was her first and only great love, he hurt her too much to ever be trusted again. The trouble is, working with him reminds her that people who rub each other the wrong way often make the best sparks. And when it comes to love, sometimes it’s the things that aren’t good for us that are the most irresistible.

Don’t miss the intoxicating romance beloved by over two million fans online–a story that will captivate you and hold you breathless until the final page.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

Bad Romeo is the first book in the series and while I can’t exactly call the ending a cliffhanger, it sure leaves us without a conclusion. And honestly, I loved reading this book so much that I just want more of Ethan and Cassie. I’ve already marked the date of the release of the next book in my calendar! That’s how far gone I am. 😉

So, brace yourself for the gushing I’m about to impose on you. Ready?

Bad Romeo is everything I love in a good contemporary romance novel, and more. You have the sweetness with some lines that just melt me, you have a charismatic male interest that is brooding, sexy, difficult in so many ways and yet his vulnerability is enchanting. You have a female character that is relatable, funny, sincere and so very human that you can’t not understand and like her. Also, in this book you see both characters fighting, you see them fighting against their feelings, their attraction and I must say that it’s done amazingly here. It didn’t feel cliché or overdone because the pain in both characters, their fears is there and I felt for them both even though sometimes I wanted to shake Ethan. 😉

The story never bored me. Not even one little chapter. Everything is important and the author succeeded in writing a story that shows us the present of both characters, but also their past, the past that changed everything six years ago. I was never lost in the timeframe, and I could really see the evolution of Ethan and Cassie. It’s very interesting and it’s quite impressive because I’m pretty sure it wasn’t an easy fit to actually write a story that is split in two, but is actually very much connected. I know, it must not make much sense to you, but you have to read the book to understand.

The secondary characters are great too. You have a little of everything and that’s nice because they complete Ethan and Cassie’s story. I completely lost myself for a few hours while reading this book, and I think it’s also because the author was able to add secondary characters that support well Ethan and Cassie to better create a whole world, life around them. I can honestly say that I was hooked even before I was finished with the first chapter.

The writing itself is lively. You can see Cassie’s voice, and even spot the changes in her that occurred between the moment she meets Ethan and the present day. That’s subtlety done and I can’t praise the author enough. She knows her characters and it feels like there’s nothing left aside.

The romance itself is wonderful too. There are so much left unsaid still, but we know where they’re coming from and I’m rooting for Cassie and Ethan. I love how the author took her time to unravel some mysteries and how the romance isn’t starting right away or how it’s a constant battle. It put things into perspective and I really like how real it somehow felt.

I know, I know, at this point I’m shamelessly being a fangirl, but it’s been a while since I last felt so very much consumed by a story and by the characters featured. I’m so eager to read the sequel that it’s almost embarrassing.

If there’s one thing I need to write it’s this: Buy and Read this book. Now! 😉

What do you think of Ethan?

 

RATING:

20131028-173205.jpg

20131120-203349.jpg

2 thoughts on “Review: Bad Romeo, by Leisa Rayven

  1. gabscrazyformybooks says:

    I kind of loved Ethan … I know , Iknow he was a bit douchy at times , but he is so much in love with Cassie, that I can’t not forgive him, and the E-mails oh god !!! those made my cry while reading the book … ( it doesn’t happend a lot… well maybe a little :))
    glad to see you love it too , this book has as many lovers as haters , i don’t get why but whatever …. can’t wait for the second half!!

    • HotStuff.BookReviews says:

      I’m exactly the same! He’s just… Ethan. I’m completely in love with this book and I’m very, very eager for the sequel.
      I can see why some readers dislike this book, but it’s so well-written, the plot is smart and the romance is so epic that I couldn’t help but be drawn. 🙂
      Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

