Review: Caught Up In You, by Colee Firman

23377551

Part of a series? It can be read as a standalone, but there will be another book featuring another set of characters.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: New Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Self-published.

Pages: 299

Blurb:

Life has a way of shaping you into what it wants you to be, regardless of how much you fight it.

Brantley Prescott is damaged. Scarred by a past she can’t forget. Hiding secrets she’s terrified to share. Searching for a future she doesn’t believe she’ll ever find.

Myles Franco is alone. Burdened by mistakes he’ll never live down. Fostering a deep resentment for the opposite sex. Unleashing his wrath on any girl who gets too close.

Brantley has worked behind the bar long enough to recognize Myles for what he is—a douchebag player with nothing on his mind but keeping a steady stream of girls flowing through his bed. With his messy dark hair, sapphire blue eyes, rock-solid body, and endless tattoos he’s impossible to ignore. But that’s exactly what she plans on doing.

After just one run-in with Brantley, Myles is even more determined to stick to the rules he lives by. She’s mouthy, blunt, and doesn’t back down—no matter how hard he pushes her. She could turn out be the one temptation that drags him down the path he’s been trying to avoid. He won’t let that happen.

Both are content living behind the solid walls they’ve built around themselves. Neither is prepared for what happens when their lives collide.
Due to sexual content and graphic language – 17+ recommended.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

It’s my first book by this author and it’s a really nice surprise. I was on a roller coaster while reading this book and I had a hard time putting it down.

I enjoyed reading this book even though sometimes I had a hard time connecting with the characters. The emotions still got to me and at one point I stopped fighting and I let myself be caught up in the mess that are Myles and Brantley. These two are the perfect example of how a relationship can be a mess.

The author went all out with these characters. They brought the whole misunderstanding, the lack of communication to a whole new level. Sometimes it can be frustrating, also a little bit maddening, but that’s also what makes it addictive in a way. Though, I do think some things were too dragged out and overdone, but I guess it’s a matter of personal taste.

The plot itself is pretty common even though a few obstacles thrown in the mix are a little different from what I often see. It’s a nice twist on things regarding Myles’ work, but I still think it’s a little too easy of an excuse or taken too far to just add a new climax, a new drama to the story. I’m not sure it was always serving the story for the best. But once again, it’s a matter of personal taste and even though I’m being picky here, I still had to read the next chapter, and the next… You get the picture, right? 😉

The secondary characters are really great for the most part. They really add that little something I love in books like this one. Really, I’m looking forward to their story because it also means seeing all of these characters again.

The writing is great. I don’t have much to say about it because I like how sometimes we have a long in-depth view in the character’s feelings, emotions and thoughts. It doesn’t break the rhythm of the story and it helps the characterization. Without the well-developed POV of Myles and Brantley, I don’t know if I’d have been able to fully enjoy this story since I had a hard time connecting with both of them sometimes.

If there’s something I regret a little it’s that the whole thing regarding Myle’s past and Brantley’s past isn’t really explored. Both characters talk about it a couple of times when they’re getting to know each other, but in the end we don’t really see much of it and how it still impacts them. We see it mainly in the first few chapters of the book, but after that it’s mentioned in passing but it’s not exactly emotionally connected. Not as much as I was expecting and hoping. You can call me twisted for wanting more angst. 😉

Also, and I’m sorry if it’s spoiling you a little bit, but I still don’t get why things went so badly in the scene taking place at Christmas. I mean, sometimes it’s like Myles and Brantley had extreme mood swings and reacted so harshly, almost out of character. What I’m trying to say is that I do think sometimes it contradicted to what they thought or said a few pages prior. That bothered me a little, but still, not enough for me to not enjoy this book. Call it a strange guilty pleasure on my part.

So, yes, I do think this is a great addition in this genre and I hope more people will read this book. I will probably read the next book that will feature Wyatt, one of the secondary characters we had the chance to meet in Caught Up In You.

By the way, I really think the title is perfectly fitting this story.

What do you think of Myles?

 

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

