Review: Into the Night, by Suzanne Rigdon

22495023

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Fantastic with a touch of romance.

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

Pages: 328

Blurb:

When Selina Baker, a coordinator for a Boston non-profit, goes out on the town with her friend Jess, she never expects to meet the man of her dreams. And she certainly never expects him to be undead.

When things go from flirty to majorly flawed on her first date with James Lawton, he is forced to save her the only way he can–by killing her. Selina suddenly finds herself in the mix with the creatures she thought were made up solely for late-night TV. Into the Night follows Selina’s transformation from a wallflower into an impulsive and dangerous new vampire. With no choice in the matter, Selina becomes trapped between a new man, his wary brothers, and his cruel and controlling Queen, who wants nothing more than to watch her suffer. Selina must walk the fine line between adjusting to her new powers, life after death, and following the rules–all while avoiding disaster.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

When I started this book I thought it was a standalone, but it is not. In fact, Into the Night ends on a “cliffhanger“. While I’m not fully in love with this book, I will read the next installment. What can I say, I always want to know the end and where the characters are when all is said and done. But in the meantime, let me try and explain what I like and dislike in this book. 😉

I don’t read vampire stories that often, not anymore at least, but this one appealed to me. I wanted to see if the author would shed a new light on such a story and while I’m not all that convinced, I do think there’s more to the whole plot to discover than what is shown so far. Unfortunately, I think this first installment is far too much an introduction to the characters, the way of life for the vampires and the hierarchy order than anything else. Also, the plot is centered on a jealous Queen, her progeny/ex-lover and his first progeny and new love interest.

Don’t think it’s all light and fun. It’s far from it and that’s a good thing in my opinion, but I think the author spent way too long, and I mean way too long, on the Queen’s jealousy and the weird relationships’ dynamic than anything else. I would have loved some more scheme, some more twisted plot to better portray the Queen or Zeek – a secondary character I’m curious to see again in another installment.

In the end, the Queen comes across as a jealous, cunning vampire, bordering on insanity. There’s not much depth here and that’s something I’m very disappointed about.

James, the romantic interest in this story and vampire, isn’t that mysterious or thrilling to discover. Other than telling us he’s handsome and has magnificent green eyes, there’s nothing much to tell. Once again, I think the character isn’t fully explored and I do hope the author will add new layers to him and more personality. I look forward to it, to be honest. I have many questions regarding the impact of the end of the book events and I expect more thrilling romance than what we’re served here.

The main character, Selina, is a character I don’t feel much about. If there’s a word to describe how I feel it’s neutral. I don’t dislike her, but I don’t like her either. She’s common, a little whiny, a little ridiculous and she has her dumb moments that I don’t think would suit a twenty-seven y/o woman, even confronted to her new vampire status.

The secondary characters are interesting even though they don’t have that distinctive voice I love to find in books. But they’re good supporting characters and I want to see more of them in the next installment.

Now, I think it’s time I talk about/write about the plot…

While there’re good things in this book regarding the plot, things that truly build a solid ground for the next installment(s), I think some things are useless and/or too repetitive. In the end, it’s the same circle between James/the Queen/Selina. Once, it was interesting, but shown more than once was too much and focusing solely on this was just disappointing. I’m sure the plot will thicken in the next installment, but I don’t like it all that much when a first novel is mostly an introduction to a series rather than a pivotal story with many plots and sub-plots created to better anchor us to the story and the characters.

Somehow, I was expecting a few twists way more “twisted“ once the Queen entered the game.

Then again, maybe I feel this way because the story was very slow to begin in my opinion. I was frustrated rather fast and I ended up building my hopes up even more.

The writing style is nice. There’s not much I can say other than I think some descriptions are a little long and heavy and slow down some parts, but the dialogues are good and don’t sound cliché. Overall, it flows and that’s all I’m asking for. 🙂

What do you think of James?

 

RATING:

2.5 to 3

Leave a Reply

