Review: The Duke in My Bed, by Amelia Grey

18112905

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Historical Romance

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Pages: 320

Blurb:

From bestselling author Amelia Grey comes a wickedly romantic tale of one reckless bachelor, five unwed sisters, and a wildly unconventional game of love…

HERE COMES THE GROOM

As a notorious member of the Heirs’ Club, Bray Drakestone can’t resist a challenge from one of his well-heeled colleagues—especially when it involves money and horses. But the friendly wager takes an unexpected and deadly turn. Bray is forced to agree to marry one of his challenger’s five sisters—sight unseen. Now gamblers all over London are placing bets on whether Bray will actually go through with it…

THERE GOES THE BRIDE

Miss Louisa Prim, the eldest sister, doesn’t care a whit what the reckless rogue at the Heirs’ Club promised her brother—she has no intention of marrying the future Duke of Drakestone. Bray, however, sees her rejection as another challenge. He bets that the fiery Miss Prim will not only agree to marry him, she will propose to him! With four sisters behind her, Louisa knows she can’t lose. But why does her opponent have to be a divinely handsome scoundrel? And so sweetly, irresistibly seductive…

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This book is the first one in this historical romance series. I’m not used to reading Historical Romance novels, but when I saw this one, my curiosity was picked and I’m glad I gave this one a chance. I will try to explain why I enjoyed it so much, but please keep in mind that I’m not that aware of the codes in this genre. It’s possible that I enjoyed this book so much because I’m not that well-versed in the genre.

In Romance novels I love it very much when the main characters banter. It almost never fails in winning me over and here the author did a good job. Louisa and Bray are very much entertaining and since Louisa is so fresh and loud-mouthed when it comes to her dislike of the handsome Duke, I kept looking forward to their meeting. Not once I was disappointed in their talks, their banters and their not so veiled insults. It was very entertaining and not overdone.

I also like how the author managed in showing us a Duke very in-controle of his emotions and feelings and yet slowly opening-up, either inside of his head – when reading his POV – or with showing a few pieces of himself with Louisa or with her sisters. Not only it was very well-done because it helped the characterization without forcing it, but it also brought another layer to the story to better anchor me. I was truly riveted.

Louisa is a very likable character and I rooted for her right away. She’s not weak, but she is a soft woman and so very caring with her sisters. Sometimes it was a little frustrating because she’s also insanely stubborn, but that’s why I enjoyed reading this book. Her stubbornness helped the plot and while it’s nothing new in romance novels, it doesn’t fail to work.

The writing of the author is neat, easy and flows well. She doesn’t waste pages after pages in long descriptions. The few descriptions are efficient and go straight to the point. It matches the tone of the book and the almost contemporary vibe of this novel.

The story itself isn’t that surprising or unheard of but when it works you can’t exactly say anything against it. Granted, maybe I would have enjoyed a little more twists here and there, but it was a nice novel and it makes me want to read more historical romance now.

I will keep a close eye for the next installment in the series and I hope we’ll see a little more of the Duke’s two friends.

What do you think of the Duke? Is he to your liking? 

 

RATING:

4 to 4.5.

Leave a Reply

