Review: Beyond Repair, by Charlotte Stein

21839934

 

Part of a series? No.

Category: Adult with some explicit sex scenes. (Some classified it as erotica).

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave

Pages: 164

Blurb:

When Alice Evans finds a bona fide movie star on the floor of her living room, she has no idea what to do. Ordinary men are frightening enough, never mind someone as famous and frankly gorgeous as Holden Stark.

However, once she realizes that Holden is suffering behind that famous facade, she knows she has to help. He needs someone like her to give him a taste of sweetness and desire and love. He needs normality. The only problem—Alice is hiding a secret that is far from normal. In fact, her name isn’t even Alice at all.

And once Holden finds out, the intense connection they are just beginning to build may well be torn apart.

A Romantica® contemporary erotic romance from Ellora’s Cave

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This standalone book completely caught me off guard. I wasn’t expecting to love it that much, to laugh or to actually fan myself when the hot scenes started.

Beyond Repair shows two characters not necessarily broken, but lost. They’re lost and in pain and use each other to forget the real world, the world outside of Alice’s home. It’s well-brought by the author and even though the scenes are almost exclusively taking place in Alice’s house, it’s not repetitive.

Holden and Alice have a really different chemistry that you can find in books like this one. They’re not going at it immediately, in fact it takes a little while and I enjoyed this very much, they’re also not necessarily opening up easily to each other and yet they do have an instant connection. They’re both very much into weird talk with some geeky references that made me smile a lot. Also, Alice’s weirdness is very fun to read and consequently the way Holden rolls with it is what completely won me over almost instantly.

The plot is very centered on Holden and Alice and I like it. I thought I would get bored at one point, but no. I enjoyed reading their relationship evolving and the way it did. It’s both sweet and completely hot. Let me tell you, Charlotte Stein wrote some very hot scenes here, without them seeming vulgar or over the top.

What happened to Alice is pretty clear early on, at least I picked up on it early on, but it didn’t ruin my reading pleasure at all. In fact, I was even more eager to see how she’d talk about it and while I do think it’s well-done, somehow I was expecting to feel something more.

The writing of the author is great in this book. It didn’t take me long to get into this story and to buy Alice’s voice. It’s very well done. The descriptions aren’t slowing down the rhythm of the story, the dialogues are flowing perfectly and are quite funny. I can’t seem to find a flaw other than the end that is, in my opinion a little fast.

For a long while we see Alice and Holden being sort of friends and then more, but it takes a really long time. Don’t get me wrong, that’s the thing I love the most in this book because it feels natural. But if I compare the way the plot and the relationship happen and how long it took, I think the ending is a little bit rushed. I couldn’t feel the warmth in my heart anymore, or the ache and fear for Alice and Holden’s relationship. I think a few more pages would have been welcomed. But honestly, I’m being a little picky.

What do you think of Holden? Which book by this author would you recommend me?

 

RATING:

4 to 4.5

20131120-203349.jpg

Leave a Reply

