Review: The Stark Affair: Heat

23339779

Part of a series? Yes, it’s the first part of a serial.

Cliffhanger? Not really.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary, Thriller, Romance

Self-published.

Pages: 126 (according to amazon)

Blurb:

Book 1 of the 4-book series THE STARK AFFAIR by Skylar Cross
Colton Stark is filthy rich. A billionaire playboy who drives fast and plays hard, he enjoys an endless stream of party girls… at his mansion, on his yacht, and in his private jet.
He’s also top of Miami-Dade Police Department’s list of suspected narcotics traffickers.
Tough girl cop Sofia grew up on the mean streets of Miami, unafraid to kick anyone’s ass. When asked to investigate Colton, she doesn’t even consider it a challenge.
Until she comes face-to-face with Colton Stark’s penetrating blue eyes.
After a steamy meeting at his South Beach club, Sofia finds herself playing a dangerous but sexy game with her own principles. As evidence mounts of Colton Stark’s dirty
dealings, together they spark a bonfire of passionate heat.

Mature content. 18+ only.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This is the first part of The Stark Affair serial. It’s very, very short and ends on a sort of cliffhanger. As of right now I think I will read the second part out of curiosity, but I’m not that eager.

I enjoy it when characters have a strong voice and when we see their quirks, but here I find the characters just over the top. If only it was a comedy it would be fine, but it’s not and it ruins the overall dark atmosphere I think the author wanted to go for. I don’t know, maybe the next part will be better.

The last chapter is better in my opinion. Maybe because I have a better feel of the main characters instead of just being launched into it without even the time to warm up to the plot and characters. I think the author wanted to start the story too fast and that’s not something I say often. Usually, it’s the contrary.

The plot itself is a little bit different and yet not exactly unique. The whole investigation thing isn’t exactly unheard of, but the execution is slightly different. I wasn’t surprised, but I don’t think the author is going to take the easy way here and that’s a good thing. But, I’m afraid that it’s posing as a thriller when the plot isn’t exactly centered around the investigation. I’m going to keep an open mind for when and if I read the next installment.

The writing style is very simplistic. It’s easy to read, it’s quite fast paced but it took me a little while to start and “enjoy“ this first installment. I kept thinking that the writing was immature for the characters’ age and that the characters came off as, as I wrote above, over the top. Somehow it bothered me quite a bit.

I don’t really know what to think right now. I’m annoyed by the characters, by the writing not that thrilling and the way the main characters seem to be so, so attracted to each other and the stereotypes they’re representing but it’s not all bad. I’m not buying this story yet, but I think I will read the next part just because I’m curious about a few things. I guess it means this first part did the job. I just hope the author goes all the way in the second part, that she keeps the pace the last chapter started and that the story doesn’t fall into the overruling sex scenes to lack of plotline like I’m afraid of.

What do you think of Colton Stark?

 

RATING:

2.5 to 3

Leave a Reply

