Review: More Than Words, by Lilly Avalon

23206405

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance (with a few sex scenes)

Self-published

Pages: 67

Blurb:

All of her friends know her as Dana Darling, the clean romance writer. She’s never written a steamy novel, not even in her head, but now her publisher needs her to write one. It doesn’t appear too difficult at first, but then Dana’s lack of sexual knowledge creates writer’s block.

That’s where her friend Landon comes in. She needs pointers on positions and dirty talk, and he owes her a favor. They agree that it’s strictly business and clothes are mandatory, but once they get to work, it’s another story entirely… one that’s being written between the sheets and not on paper.

*More Than Words is an erotica novella*

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This the first novella in a series and is rather cute. I was hoping for something with more heat, something with a love story more thrilling, but it was a nice story to read.

I’m in the mood for novellas and serials these days, probably because I don’t have that much time to read, and this one really appealed to me. The premise makes it sound like a fun story and it is, to a certain extent. I didn’t laugh out loud if that’s what you’re wondering, but I did smiled a few times while reading.

The writing itself is efficient. It’s easy to read, fast paced and it flows pretty well. But it really is a short novella. In a way I think that’s the issue I have with More Than Words. I couldn’t really feel the main characters and their attraction to each other. Also, the sex scenes while nice aren’t that mind blowing. I’ve read better, I’m afraid.

The plot is straight forward which is a good thing considering the short length of this story and it holds pretty well on its own. The fast pace of the story makes it interesting and we’re not turning in circles. There’s no dull moment and there’s no time for the characters to doubts, to make mistakes or things like that. It really is a very straight forward story.

I was expecting some dilemma since the main characters are friends exploring a more physical aspect of their relationship, but it’s not there. I would have loved that and it could have been dealt with in ten pages or so. It’s the author’s choice of course, but I think it could have given a little more depth to this story and in turn I would have been way more invested.

But as I said, it’s a nice read. It’s perfect if you want something short and nice in between reads or when you don’t have much time to read. If you’re not expecting anything more than some distraction, then it could be a good choice.

To end this very short review, I’m a little disappointed. I was expecting more undeniable heat between the main characters, a real twist and some more depth when it comes to the characters and I didn’t find it or maybe I didn’t look in the right place.

 

RATING:

 

3 to 3.5

Leave a Reply

