Review: Swept Away Part 1, by J. Haymore

23352588

 

Part of a series? Yes, it’s a serial.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Category: Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Self-published.

Pages: 130

Blurb:

He is everywhere. He surrounds me, wends his way under my skin. I can’t escape his strength, his intensity, his presence.

I’m trapped.

There’s nowhere to run.

Nowhere to hide.

But even if I could escape… would I be strong enough to leave?

I needed something — something big — to get myself out of the rut I’d fallen into after the car accident that killed my sister. This sailing trip was meant only to mark a new chapter in my life. Until Ethan Williams stepped on board.

Ethan radiated confidence. His darkly handsome good looks and ocean-blue eyes mesmerized me. But it was the way he looked at me that drew me in. He wasn’t looking at my past or at my scars, but the real me behind all that baggage I was trying so hard to leave behind.

But Ethan had secrets—dark, dangerous secrets. I was trapped in the middle of the ocean in a tangle of lies, sex, and violence. The problem was, I was happy to be trapped forever…if it meant I could have him.

Warning: Swept Away is not for people under 18.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This is the first part in a serial that will count 4 parts. As you can imagine, there’s a cliffhanger, but somehow it’s not one that I find that big or that surprising. Maybe it’s because I’m not yet fully into this serial, but I have the next two parts waiting for me and I hope it’ll change. 😉

What I enjoy in serials it’s when the action is ever present and the voice is very distinctive. Here, in this first installment I don’t think that’s what happened. The voice is very common and I couldn’t fully feel the main character. She’s supposed to be in pain, recovering after some very traumatic events and somehow I couldn’t feel it. Not really.

Also, I think the descriptions while well-written are too numerous and too long for such a format of story. The descriptions tend to slow down the pace of the story and even breaks the rhythm at times. At least, that’s how I felt while reading.

The plot itself has some mysteries and in fact that’s the one thing I enjoy. I have many questions left unanswered and that’s why I’m going to start the next part as soon as I’m finished with this little review. I hope the author will give us some answers while still keeping a few mysteries for the next parts. But there’s something that frustrated me… The time lapses. It broke the rhythm and I think without so many we could have seen more of the sailing crew dynamic, something I think would have been a real benefit for the story, but also for the characterization. Of course, it’s just my opinion and I’m trying to explain why I wasn’t that into this first part.

The whole thing regarding Tara’s best friend was very, very predictable. I don’t think he’s used the best of way so far and I hope it’ll change. I don’t see the real struggles here. I mean, I think Kyle (aka the best friend) is just convenient in this first installment and it’s a disappointment.

Ethan, the male interest, while obviously hot and mysterious, is not a character I like. I don’t get him and while it’s great not to really understand him or get him right now, I still needed to feel something. I don’t hate him, but I don’t love him and that’s an issue when he’s the male interest. Hopefully, I’ll warm up soon.

Just for the mysteries I want to read the next installment and I have high hope that the next parts will up their game. I often better enjoy the next parts in a serial. 😉

What do you think of Ethan?

 

RATING:

3

Leave a Reply

