Review: No Time Like Forever, by Zoe York

20760972

 

Part of a series? Yes, but can be read as a standalone.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Self-published

Pages: 188

Blurb:

It started with a kiss…

Mari Beadie needed a boyfriend, and Chase Miller happened to be in the right place at the right time. The kiss that followed wasn’t necessary, strictly speaking, but it sure was hot.

Hot enough that when the tables are turned, Chase knows just who to ask to be his pretend girlfriend. Only this time, it’s not a one-time deal.

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

I didn’t know this author or this series of stand alone novels before reading No Time Like Forever. I have mixed feelings regarding this book. On the one hand I enjoyed a few chapters, really loved some scenes, but on the other hand the overall story/plot fell flat for me.

The word I’d use to describe how I feel toward this book is average.

I can see how many readers must love this book, enjoy this light and even sweet blossoming love between Chase and Mari, but in the end I’m not among these readers.

I was expecting to read a real love story and in the end I couldn’t connect with the attraction between Mari and Chase, not when it went so much deeper so suddenly. We’re spending a very long time witnessing Mari fighting against her attraction toward Chase, then the two characters putting the breaks between them (that’s something I truly enjoyed) and then suddenly the L-word is said and Mari and Chase’s hang-ups are relegated to the background without a real transition. Not one I find satisfying at least.

The plot itself is a little all over the place, almost as if many things are broached but nothing is truly dug deep. That’s something I tend to get very frustrated over. :/

The whole pretend girlfriend/boyfriend thing happened and that’s fun, but then it’s not really used fully. I don’t get it. Then, there’s the thing with Chase’s ex-girlfriend and it’s not really used either. I can think of a few more things, but I don’t want to put any spoilers so I’ll stop here.

The whole book started as a 4 stars for me and slowly, but steadily fell to an average read, something I enjoyed reading, but that didn’t suck me in.

 

RATING:

2.5 to 3

Leave a Reply

