Review: Undertow, K.R. Conway

22924235

 

Part of a series? Yes. (It’s the first installment)

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Young Adult

Genre: Paranormal with Mysteries and a touch of romance.

Self-published

Pages: 259

Blurb:

Eila Walker knows luck is not a friend, so she is downright shocked to inherit a million-dollar Cape Cod home. And yeah, her new town isn’t perfect: the cheerleaders are heinous clones, the local undertow can kill ya, and her Great Grams was supposedly fried by lightning in the harbor square. Still, Eila is hopeful her luckless days are in the past . . . until history decides to repeat itself.

When drool-worthy Raef O’Reilly becomes her friendly, yet weirdly protective shadow, Eila thinks life is pretty darn perfect – until she is hauled beneath the waves by an unnatural undertow. Revealing coal-black eyes and iron-like strength as he rescues her, Raef can no longer hide what he is . . . or what she can do. Eila, last of her kind, can supposedly channel the power of human souls, while Raef is more adept at stealing them. Even worse, the legend about her ancestor isn’t such a myth, since Eila’s grandmother was one kick-butt warrior until her lightning-like power backfired. A power that is written all over Eila’s DNA.

Determined to stay one step ahead of a dangerous clan that is hunting her, Raef, along with three unlikely allies, will do all they can to protect her. But as hidden pieces of their brutal histories unravel, Eila begins to understand just what went down in the harbor square. She soon realizes that following in her grandmother’s fearless footsteps may be the only way to save those she loves . . . including Raef.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

Undertow is the first book in the series so keep that in mind going in. But don’t worry, it’s a full length novel with a beginning, a middle and an end.

It’s been a little while since I’ve last read a paranormal book, so when I saw this one on Netgalley and the synopsis appealed to me, I knew that I had to read it. I’m glad I did even though it took me a little while to really get into it.

Like often in YA Paranormal books there are many characters. Sometimes it can be a little difficult to follow when you’re delving in. Of course it’s just a matter of time before you get who this or that character is and then it’s a piece of cake.

But the thing is I had a hard time at first. I think for well over 30% of the book I was a little bit bored. Nothing much happened or whenever something happened the main character would push it aside and not face it. I get it that the things were hard to face, but at one point I truly think that it’s too much. The fact that the main character would just dismiss her questions and go on with her life as if nothing happened annoyed me quite a bit. At first, it’s understandable but it’s taken too far and for too long in my opinion. It’s the author’s choice of course, but it lost my interest and that’s an issue starting a new book.

Also, what I didn’t enjoy all that much is the fact that the author decided to write most of the first half of the book in a narrative voice. Somehow, it gives a passive voice to the story and that’s probably why I got bored for a little while before everything started to fall into place and the action took another turn for the best.

I enjoyed the second half of the book. The action is ever-present, almost too much at times, and the mysteries were interesting even though nothing is all that new in the genre. I saw coming a few twists, but overall it was very enjoyable and I let myself be drawn to the story and the characters.

The different characters are interesting even though I couldn’t get a feel of some such as Ana or even Kian. MJ is for me a little too much pushed to the background and Raef is very interesting rather late in the book. The romantic side of this book, while not forefront, isn’t that well-built. It took me a while to believe in Raef and Eila’s attraction and love. The word love is actually “easily” dumped in the conversation and I miss the real build up, the real “falling in love“ thing I enjoy reading about in YA Paranormal books. But near the end I couldn’t help my heart for warming up to these two.

There are a few things left “unresolved“ for the next installment, but in no way you could say it’s a cliffhanger. You just know there’s another installment to read with probably a whole new adventure for the five friends and unlikely allies.

Is it a book I’d recommend? Yes, if you’re looking for a nice YA Paranormal books.
Is it one of my favorite books in the genre? No, but I will read the next installment with enthusiasm.

What do you think of Raef? Of Kian? MJ? Eila? Ana?

 

RATING:

3 to 3.5

Leave a Reply

