Review: Whatever Life Throws at You, by Julie Cross

20757528

 

Part of a series? No.

Category: New Adult/Young-Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Pages: 320

Blurb:

Life loves a good curveball…

Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas’s life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major leagues as the new pitching coach for the Kansas City Royals. Now she’s living in Missouri (too cold), attending an all-girls school (no boys), and navigating the strange world of professional sports. But Annie has dreams of her own—most of which involve placing first at every track meet…and one starring the Royals’ super-hot rookie pitcher.

But nineteen-year-old Jason Brody is completely, utterly, and totally off-limits. Besides, her dad would kill them both several times over. Not to mention Brody has something of a past, and his fan club is filled with C-cupped models, not smart-mouthed high school “brats” who can run the pants off every player on the team. Annie has enough on her plate without taking their friendship to the next level. The last thing she should be doing is falling in love.

But baseball isn’t just a game. It’s life. And sometimes, it can break your heart…

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

 

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

While I love reading series, finding a good standalone novel is pretty amazing. Here, this novel ties everything pretty well, the characters are well-portrayed and the plot itself develops nicely.

Did I love everything? Almost. Wasn’t there some things I’d have loved more detailed, maybe more developed? Of course, but I’m always, or at least often, picky. Believe me, I know. The more I read, the more I’m asking for in books or at least I expect a lot more.

I really like reading romance sport novels. While I don’t know baseball all that well, I still enjoyed the way the story shows different aspects of the sport such as how a rookie can be treated by his teammates, how the PR can be intense and become quite ridiculous, how the training behind the scene is extremely important, the pressure, etc. The author doesn’t forget anything and while showing us this, she doesn’t lose us in too much lingo or in detailed games that would have slowed down the narration. She balanced everything pretty well in my opinion.

The characters are also very likable. I like the main character. Annie is a fun high school girl who knows what she wants and who is able to see and face her fears. She’s also very mature and yet vulnerable like a 17 y/o is supposed to be. She sounds true and I like that.

Jason Brody is adorable. I know, it’s not exactly the thing I write the most while describing a male character in a book, but he truly is adorable. There’s a boyish charm about him that I loved to read about. But, I’m a little sad that the author didn’t spend more time on his family. Somehow, I think it’s not fully explored and we’re missing out on some intense emotions and not just gratuitous emotions.

Annie’s father is amazing. I like how his relationship with his daughter his portrayed and how the author shows that even though he’s an adult, he’s got some issues regarding his life to sort out. Usually, the parents in books don’t have such important role, but here he’s a real dad. Somehow, I think it would have been great to see a little bit more of his struggles near the end of the book.

The secondary characters are also very interesting. They support the plot and the main characters wonderfully and they don’t just fade in the background. They complete the little world the author built for us. I love it when it happens. I hope the author will write Lenny’s story at one point.

The plot itself isn’t very unusual. In fact, it’s pretty much what you can expect from a romance comedy movie or book. It’s nice, it’s easy to read, it’s a little bit predictable and yet it’s working so well that you don’t even mind or pay that much attention. I would have enjoyed it if some more twists would have been better introduced throughout the book instead of at the beginning and pilling up in the second half of the book.

The writing style of the author is flowing, flawless and very lively. It conveys perfectly Annie’s voice and that fresh and young voice you expect from a teenage girl without sounding cliché or shallow. Well-done.

What do you think of Jason Brody?

 

RATING:

 

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

