Review: Alex, by Sawyer Bennett

21794306

Part of a series? Yes, but the next installment features another set of characters.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Loveswept.

Pages: 224

Blurb:

USA Today bestselling author Sawyer Bennett scores big-time with the first novel in a sexy new series hot enough to melt the ice.

Hockey star Alexander Crossman has a reputation as a cold-hearted player on and off the rink. Pushed into the sport by an alcoholic father, Alex isn’t afraid to give fans the proverbial middle finger, relishing his role as the MVP they love to hate. Management, however, isn’t so amused. Now Alex has a choice: fix his public image through community service or ride the bench. But Alex refuses to be molded into the Carolina Cold Fury poster boy . . . not even by a tempting redhead with killer curves.

As a social worker, Sutton Price is accustomed to difficult people—like Alex, who’s been assigned to help her create a drug-abuse awareness program for at-risk youth as part of the team’s effort to clean up his image. What she doesn’t expect is the arrogant smirk from his perfect lips to stir her most heated fantasies. But Sutton isn’t one to cross professional boundaries—and besides, Alex doesn’t do relationships . . . or does he? The more she sees behind Alex’s bad-boy façade, the more Sutton craves the man she uncovers.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

 

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

I enjoyed reading this book. I was expecting something hot with a good romance, but in the end it’s sweeter than expected.

Will I remember this book in a few weeks? Probably not.
Would I recommend it? Yes.

I think it explains pretty well how I feel. I truly had a good enough time reading this book, but if I’m being completely honest it’s not what I was expecting and not what I really wanted. But, I do think it’s a great story and the characters are rather likable.

Alex, while a jerk at first glance, truly moved me. I could relate to him in some ways, I understood him. I think the author did an amazing job at showing us a male character hardened by a father that isn’t one and an overall crappy family life. Even seemingly closed off, it’s easy to understand him and to feel something for him.

Sutton is also a really great character. She’s not weak, doesn’t back down and she’s very sweet and kind without coming across as a doormat. Her maturity is a great asset to this story and it helps not falling into a repetitive pattern.

I enjoyed the progress between Alex and Sutton, but I would have loved some more setbacks, some more struggles with more consequences sometimes. I think it would have upped the intensity, and in turn it would have made me feel even more invested in the characters and their relationship. Also, I do think it would have been great to emphasize their family issues.

The plot itself is pretty usual, the twists maybe not enough played out. The romance itself is very sweet, more so than I expected and I can’t say that it’s not a nice surprise. And that doesn’t mean there’s not some hot scenes! 😉

There’s one thing that bothered me a little while reading. I don’t like it when some scenes happen “off pages“ and are barely summarized later on. Here, I don’t think those scenes are exactly key scenes, but without giving too much details, I think of at least one scene that should have been shown. When Alex goes to meet his father. In my opinion it could have brought even more depth to Alex.

But overall it truly is a great story. I love contemporary romance novels featuring a hockey player, but this one isn’t my favorite. I had a good time with it, it brought a smile to my face a few times, it also made my heart hurt a little bit for Alex and Sutton and the writing style is flowing so well that I didn’t see the time passing.

 

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

