Review: Hope For Her, by Sydney Aaliyah Michelle

23164074

Part of a series? Yes.

Category: New Adult

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: SAM and Associates LLC (but I think it’s self-published).

Pages: 250

Blurb:

No one ever expected much from him.

Joshua Elijah Griffin, IV is on his last chance. A stint in rehab and a transfer to a new school has scared him into putting his life on track. He’s determined to live up to his family’s expectations, but on the first day of class, Josh meets a girl, and he knows his father won’t approve, but in Carrington, he sees a kindred spirit. He’s willing to give up everything to be with her.

No one ever thought she was special.

Carrington Olivia Butler is ready to shine. Always in the shadows of her siblings, she goes away to college to break out of her shell. All Carrington wants is to feel special. Josh’s attention is exactly what she craves, but their intense and sometimes volatile relationship is more than what she bargained for.

Josh’s demons return, and Carrington’s feelings fade, but both aren’t ready to give up hope. They give their love one last shot to survive, but hope, may not be enough.

**This book contains adult subject matter. Not intended for young readers.**

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

 

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

It’s the first time I’m writing a review for a book I didn’t finish. Usually, I wouldn’t review the book until I’m finished, but since I engaged myself and said that I would read and review this book by October 1st, date of its release, I can’t exactly put this book aside to come back to it later on. Will I read the rest of this book another time? Maybe, but I’m not entirely sure.

The e-copy I have of this book is an ARC which means that usually it’s not professionally edited or formatted yet. This one is definitely not. To tell you the truth, I had a hard time seeing past it, but I think it has more to do with the fact that I couldn’t get into the story.

To give you an idea of where I am, I DNF at 29%. But keep in mind that the book isn’t formatted, there’s no blank pages, the chapters are not spaced, etc.

So… I have a hard time organizing my thoughts to tell you the truth.

On the one hand, I see what the author wants to do, I can see the potential, I can see how heavy the topics are (the male lead character is a recovering drug addict), but unfortunately I absolutely hate the two main characters.

While I understand a little bit some of their thoughts or actions, I don’t get the way they react, the way they see each other, the way the plot is unfolding. I don’t get it and I don’t feel anything for the characters or the story other than annoyance and, as awful as it sounds, boredom.

The characters are contradicting themselves or what we know of them and while sometimes it can serve a purpose like when a character is trying to lie to himself, here it’s not even that. Did I miss something? Am I dumb and I completely spaced out from time to time?

Right now, at this point in the story, in my opinion the characterization is a huge issue and the plot isn’t that interesting. I don’t see the interest so far. Of course, it’s my opinion and I’m pretty sure it’ll be one of those books I don’t get, but I’m almost the only one feeling that way.

There’s the potential for an emotional story so it’s probably getting better later on. The thing is, I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t win me over later on either because I’m really not invested in the characters at this point and they annoy me a lot. When it happens at this stage, then I rarely warm up to the story or characters.

The secondary characters aren’t that interesting either. Though, maybe Jackson could be interesting. I bet he is important later on and maybe he brings a little twist/issues when it comes to Carrington and Josh. I’m just guessing here.

Josh’s issues with his family aren’t clear enough. The author is right in not telling us everything right away, but I do think that we should be able to get why he started taking drugs before instead of just stating that his father is a huge factor. I need to feel it.

I also don’t get Carrington. At all.

There are a few reviews already available on Goodreads and they are all raving. From what they said, the story is amazing later on, it depicts wonderfully how an addict is self-destructive and how it impacts on others’ happiness and such. That’s wonderful if the author shows this so well because that’s what I think would be most interesting. Unfortunately, since I don’t like the characters at this point, I don’t think I would like the book later on. I don’t believe in Josh and Carrington, I don’t feel their attraction and that’s a huge part of this story.

This book isn’t a good match for me. The writing style isn’t my cup of tea, the characters annoy me and not in a good way, I don’t see the point of the plot and I don’t have my curiosity picked for the rest of the book.

Unfortunately, I thought I would fall madly in love with this novel and it’s a complete miss for me. But don’t mind me, from what I heard so far, I’m the only one feeling that way about Hope For Her.

 

RATING:

1394211391star4m.net-skshivambat771-1 DNF

Leave a Reply

