Review: The Good Girls’ Guide to Bad Boys, by Katie Hart

23208940

Part of a series? No.

Category: New Adult.

Genre: Contemporary with some romance and suspense.

Publisher: Carina.

Pages: 304

Blurb:

There’s nothing better than a bad boy…

When feisty break dancer Andrea left for university, she thought she was ready to step into the real world. But she wasn’t prepared for meeting her new neighbour, Hunter.

Arrogant, dangerous and a bit too sexy, Hunter’s everything Andrea knows she should resist…and can’t.

But when she gets swept up into Hunter’s dark, mysterious family, it seems that falling for a seductive rebel might not be all it’s cracked up to be. Is this good girl really ready to take on a bad boy?

Wattpad sensation Katie Hart is the queen of bad boys! Her debut, The Good Girl’s Guide to Bad Boys, is perfect for fans of Kirsty Moseley.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

I’ve never heard of this author before and apparently this story was very popular on Wattpad. While I can see why many readers enjoyed this novel, I can’t help but be disappointed.

As any readers I hate writing negative reviews, but I really didn’t enjoy this book for many reasons.

I can see that the author has the talent to write even though I do think it needs to mature some. There are some dialogues that aren’t flowing that well, some descriptions break the rhythm, but I’m sure the author will mature very soon in her writing.

The things that truly bothered me while reading this book and that made me consider not finishing it is the lack of maturity of the characters. Granted, they’re still young since Andy is just starting college, but honestly the lack of emotions, lack of depth is quite maddening. If only it was a silly, funny and light story with some chick lit vibes it would have been alright, but this story is supposed to be darker even though the characters add a comic relief now and then.

I couldn’t understand the characters, even the secondary ones. In my opinion the characterizations are not complete, not polished. In the end, I couldn’t relate to the characters, couldn’t follow their thought process and I couldn’t feel for them.

Also, the plot itself is very much all over the place. Seriously. There are contradictory things happening, some stuff are not understandable because not introduced or dealt properly. Moreover, the author doesn’t spend enough time on the issues and the consequences to better feel for the characters and actually connect with them.

In turn, I couldn’t buy for one second in Hunter and Andy’s attraction and love. Some convos made me smile, I’m not going to lie, but overall I focused on what was not working instead of what was working.

If I’m being honest, there’s not one good thing I can find about the plot. That’s not very usual for me. I’m pretty sure most readers will not feel the same way, so don’t mind me.

In the end, I think I’m not the right reader for this book. Maybe I’m getting too old, maybe I wasn’t in the right frame of mind to read this novel.

Too bad because there are many elements present in this book to make a fabulous story. The execution is lacking for me, unfortunately.

RATING:

1.5 to 20140103-095135.jpg

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s