Review: I Want It That Way, by Ann Aguirre

20945757

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: New Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Harlequin HQN

Pages: 352

Blurb:

Nadia Conrad has big dreams, and she’s determined to make them come true—for her parents’ sake as well as her own. But between maintaining her college scholarship and working at the local day care to support herself, she barely has time to think, let alone date. Then she moves into a new apartment and meets the taciturn yet irresistible guy in 1B….

Daniel Tyler has grown up too fast. Becoming a single dad at twenty turned his life upside down—and brought him heartache he can’t risk again. Now, as he raises his four-year-old son while balancing a full-time construction management job and night classes, a social life is out of the question. The last thing he wants is for four noisy students to move into the apartment upstairs. But one night, Nadia’s and Ty’s paths cross, and soon they can’t stay away from each other.

The timing is all wrong—but love happens when it happens. And you can’t know what you truly need until you stand to lose it.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

It’s the first time I’ve read a book written by Ann Aguire, but I’m pretty sure it’ll not be the last! This first installment in the 2B Trilogy won me over.

Nadia and Ty are characters I loved reading about and Nadia’s POV is very well-written even if I think a few things are a little bit too slow and too much descriptive, but I get the contemplative parts and they fit very well the mood of the story when things were getting tough between her and Ty.

It’s not often that I read so grown-up NA Contemporary Romance novels and that’s probably why I enjoyed this one so much. The romance isn’t easy, the characters are responsible and not just driven by their hormones and lust. No, it’s much more than that.

The plot is probably slow if you’re expecting some epic story, but I think it’s perfect for the characters and for the tone of the book. The author depicts life, real life, while using fiction and a pure love to do so. As you can see, I’m currently gushing. 😉

But that doesn’t mean I don’t think some things couldn’t have been improved! The last few chapters before the ending could have been more showing rather than telling. I get the author’s intention and it’s fairly well-done because I could feel Nadia’s pain, but I would have loved to see it more somehow. I don’t want to spoil you so I can’t exactly explain further.

To be honest, I think that’s the only thing negative I can write right now. I love the secondary characters, I love the dynamic between Nadia’s roommates, I love the author’s writing, I love Ty’s son and what he brings to the story, I love the struggles any students would feel shown…

In fact, I’m looking forward to reading the next installments because I’m dying to see Lauren’s story with Nadia’s brother, but also Max’s story in the last installment. I hope to enjoy these other two books as much as this first installment. 🙂

This book is different from what you can find in NA contemporary romance novels and for me it’s a good thing. The book isn’t all about lust even though there are a couple of hot scenes, the book isn’t all about broken characters, but about young men and women trying to be adults and dealing with questions and fears regarding their future while not overlooking their responsibilities. This story rings true.

If you’re looking for something hot and full of angst with a fast paced plot, then this book is probably not for you. But if you’re looking for a novel that is truthful and sweet, then this one could be for you.

What do you think if Ty? I’m quite taken by him and his son is rather cute.

 

RATING:

4.5 to 20131028-173205.jpg

20131028-173229.jpg

Leave a Reply

