Review: Unstoppable, by Melody Grace

20922821

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: New Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Self-published.

Pages: 218

Blurb:

A secret scar…

Tegan Callahan has sworn off bad boys for good. Growing up on tour with her rock star brother, she knows first-hand the damage they can do. She’s looking for a nice, safe, stable guy – until a chance encounter with a devastatingly sexy stranger makes her question everything she thought she wanted.

A troubled soul…

Ryland James arrives in Beachwood Bay on the run from his mistakes. He knows he’s the last thing Tegan needs, but somehow, he can’t stay away. There’s something about her fierce beauty that draws him in – and makes him vow to protect her, whatever the cost.

A passionate destiny…

Their bond is undeniable; the stakes, higher than ever. But the past won’t stay gone forever, and soon, Ryland must make the ultimate choice: will he risk everything he treasures in the world, or keep Tegan safe – and sacrifice her love forever?

*This book contains adult situations and explicit content. 17+*

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

 

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

While this book is the fifth in the Beachwood Bay series, it can be read as a standalone. I haven’t read any of the other books yet, but I didn’t have any issues as I think the author made an amazing job at introducing characters.

I really enjoyed reading this book. It flows well, the characters are enticing and the plot while common works well. I do think some things don’t work as perfectly as they could have, but the good far outweigh the “bad’’.

Let me get started on what I really enjoyed in this book.

The characters. I love the characters and not just the main characters in this book. I also love the little glimpses of Tegan’s brothers and I absolutely adore Ryland’s sister. They all bring something to the story, a real atmosphere that makes it more wholesome in a way.

I love Tegan and Ryland’s past, their issues and hangups. I often love and fell for broken characters because I love “seeing’’ how they overcome everything, how they push through and build a real life. Tegan and Ryland do this in this book. They overcome their past, put it at rest to better focus on their future.

I also love the author’s writing style. It’s not often that I think the dialogues flow effortlessly, that the descriptions serve a purpose to better enhance the emotions. I can only praise the author.

Now you’re probably wondering what I don’t love. There are a few things and you’re probably going to think I’m being contradictory. I will try to explain as best why I’m not rating this book even higher than I already am.

While I love the characters, I think the main characters could have been even more fleshed out, not with descriptions, but with their emotions. We first see Tegan very broken, but I think she lets her past go almost too easily in this book. I know she’s already on her way to getting better, but still. Sometimes I felt off about it because I would have loved to see more doubts, even if Ryland overwhelmed her. I think there the characterization is a little bit weak. Just slightly.
Ryland is amazing, but I would have loved to see more of his struggles regarding his mother. There, I think the plot is lacking something. Maybe a hundred more pages would have been for the best because there are lots of possibilities that could have been even more explored. For example, the ending is too rushed in my opinion, almost too easy.

The plot while simple enough and classic in a way, is a little slow at times while sometimes things are pretty rushed. More build up, more time spend on the issues would have been perfect.

But I’m being very picky here. You know, when you really enjoyed a book, you tend to want even more to make it as perfect as possible according to your opinion. I could have been head over heels, but I’m still pretty enamored with this book still. 😉

I will read the other books in this series. Definitely.

What do you think of Ryland? Who is your favorite book boyfriend in this series?

 

RATING:

4

Leave a Reply

