Review: Rock Addiction, by Nalini Singh

22839846

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary Romance. (several sex scenes).

Self-published.

Pages: 356.

Blurb:

A bad boy wrapped in a sexy, muscled, grown-up package might be worth a little risk…

Molly Webster has always followed the rules. After an ugly scandal tore apart her childhood and made her the focus of the media’s harsh spotlight, she vowed to live an ordinary life. No fame. No impropriety. No pain. Then she meets Zachary Fox, a tattooed bad boy rocker with a voice like whiskey and sin, and a touch that could become an addiction.

A one-night stand with the hottest rock star on the planet, that’s all it was meant to be…

Fox promises scorching heat and dangerous pleasure, coaxing Molly to extend their one-night stand into a one-month fling. After that, he’ll be gone forever, his life never again intersecting with her own. Sex and sin and sensual indulgence, all with an expiration date. No ties, no regrets. Too late, Molly realizes it isn’t only her body that’s become addicted to Fox, but her heart…

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

Once in a while I’m left unsure when it comes to how to rate a book. It’s not often, but sometimes I have mixed feelings and it’s difficult to explain what didn’t work for me in a book. This one is one of those books.

I love reading rock star romance novels. I more often than not love these books, have fun reading the romance unfolding quite often between a rock god and a girl who is basically nobody. I mean, if done correctly it’s great.

But Rock Addiction isn’t the addiction I was expecting and the way the plot is built, the narration and even the writing didn’t blow my mind. I enjoyed some parts, had fun and loved reading about the band’s dynamic, but the “bad’’ is outweighing the good for me. But keep in mind that I did “enjoy” this book, just not to the point of wanting to read the next ones in the series or not to the point of remembering this book in a few months.

Since this book is the first one in a series, but can be read as a standalone because apparently the next ones will be focusing on the other band members, I think some things are not well-introduced in the plot. You can see some stories intertwining regarding the other band members, but in the end the lack of info regarding them while still supposedly teasing to read their stories later on is not something that worked on me. Actually it made me roll my eyes when I realized that it was used and done several times throughout the novel. At first I thought it was a misshap. I like it when in a series stories are intertwined somehow, but here since the plot itself isn’t that thrilling and nothing significant happens it bothered me. A lot.

I know it’s harsh to state that nothing really happens, but to a certain extent it’s true. Fox and Molly’s relationship was never really threatened, their romantic involvement evolved in such a way that in my opinion there’s not build up and it’s almost like insta-love. Even their insta-lust wasn’t all that convincing in my opinion.
Also, I don’t like it when several scenes are happening off page and merely mentioned in passing when it’s obvious that it’s rather important. The first example that comes to my mind it’s the meaning behind one of Fox’s tattoo. (Don’t worry, it’s not a spoiler).

Then there’s also the fact that I think that the characters’ background isn’t used that well. It’s fractured and I think Molly blurted things a little too easily. In the end, I think the emotional side of this story could have been a wonderful tool to use to bring that love story to epic proportion and in the end the emotion is not much present, sometimes even lacking to instead leave much more room to the lust between Fox and Molly, lust that didn’t pick my interest as I was expecting it to.

Also, sometimes some dialogues don’t strike me as natural. Mostly in the first half of the book. Is it because I needed to warm up some more to the characters? Maybe. I’m not sure.

In the end, maybe I’m disappointed because I had a lot of expectation for this book, but it’s not a Rock Romance I’m particularly fond of.

Though, I think Noah and Abe’s stories have some potential. Will I read these installments? Right now I’m really not sure, but nothing is set in stone. 😉

What do you think of Fox?

 

RATING:

2.5 to 3 (I hesitated rating it 2 stars).

Leave a Reply

