Review: Uncivilized, by Sawyer Bennett

22611596

Part of a series? No.

Category: Erotica.

Genre: Contemporary romance.

Self-published.

Pages: 326

Blurb:

**Warning: This book is a wild, sexy beast of a read. 18+**

Putting a woman on her knees before me is what really makes my cock hard. I fuck with dominant force and absolute control. I demand complete surrender from my conquests.

Savage man, loner, warrior… I am dangerous at my core. I have lived amidst the untamed wild of the rainforest, in a society that reveres me and where every woman falls before me in subjugation.

Now I’ve been discovered. Forced to return to a world that I have forgotten about and to a culture that is only vaguely familiar to my senses.

Dr. Moira Reed is an anthropologist who has been hired to help me transition back into modern society. It’s her job to smooth away my rough edges… to teach me how to navigate properly through this new life of mine. She wants to tame me.

She’ll never win.

I am wild, free and raw, and the only thing I want from the beautiful Moira Reed is to fuck her into submission.

She wants it, I am certain.

I will give it to her soon.

Yes, very soon, I will become the teacher and she will become my student. And when I am finished showing her body pleasure like no other, she’ll know what it feels like to be claimed by an uncivilized man.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This standalone novel has been calling my name for a little while. After all, the premise is quite intriguing and I was eager to see how the author would have built her story and how the characters would be. In the end, I’m not disappointed!

Going in, I didn’t know what to expect other than an erotica story. I wasn’t sure if there would be a real characterization and not just sex scenes after sex scenes, I didn’t know if there would have been a real plot or not, etc. While I do think some things could have been more explored and not just the sex aspect of things, the author did an amazing job at creating appealing characters, a story that is both thrilling and interesting on an emotional level – to some extent of course – and with a writing style pretty much flawless.

The story isn’t showing an uncivilized man as much as I was expecting and maybe hoping for, but I think it’s smart how the author built Zach’s background and upbringing to better explain why it’s not as much a struggle for him to get back to the modern life as we thought it’d be.

Yet, the author shows how difficult it is for Zach to truly know where he’s coming from, where his true home is. It’s great that the author doesn’t brush off anything, but I do think it should have been even more exploited instead of showing so many sex scenes.

But don’t get me wrong! The sex scenes are part of the story and curiously they help characterizing Zach. It’s an erotica novel so it’s obvious that there are many sex scenes, but the author wrote them in such a way that it’s blending very well with the story without impacting too much the plot.

Though, I do think that the plot could have been a little more tight. I got bored half-way through the novel for a few chapters. Probably the repetition of the same fears and questions with Zach and Moira and the same sex pattern that wasn’t bringing much more at that point. I was waiting for something else to happen, something to kick start another phase in the story, something that would bring another obstacle in Zach and Moira’s relationship as much as Zach’s need to go back to where he’s coming from or stay a little while longer. At that point, I was stuck and wondered if there would actually be something else to the story or not. Fortunately, at one point things move along a little.

The thing is, the first half of the story both amused me and had me riveted. I was curious, I was enthralled by Zach’s POV and the writing style, while simple, completely won me over. I was truly invested in the story, so half-way through the book I had my expectations set very high and that’s probably why I got disappointed for a few chapters. Also, I think Moira’s POV wasn’t as interesting and/or entertaining as Zach’s.

But the last few chapters of the book won me over again even though I think the author rushed things a little too much for my taste. More build up would have been the cherry on the cake. But I’m being picky as I often am when I truly enjoyed a novel.

This book is a great addition to the erotica novels out there. There’s a real alpha-male, some very hot sex scenes and a characterization spot on. Sawyer Bennett is truly on my auto-buy list now.

 

RATING:

4 to 4.5

Leave a Reply

