Review: The Devil in Denim, by Melanie Scott

18779669

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? No.

Category: Adult.

Genre: Contemporary “romance“ with a chick-lit vibe sometimes.

Publisher: St. Martin’s 

Pages: 352.

Blurb:

Life Just Threw Her A Curveball.

As the team-owner’s daughter, Maggie Jameson grew up in the New York Saints’ stadium—glove, cap, hot dogs, and all. Baseball’s in her blood, and she’s always dreamed of the day when she would lead the Saints to victory herself. That was before her dad had to sell the team to Alex Winters. The fast-talking, fiercely attractive businessman has a baseball pedigree that’s distinctly minor league. Maggie wants to hate him but his skills of seduction, however, are off the charts.

Will Love Be A Home Run?

Alex could never have imagined how much this team means to Maggie. He needs her to help show the players that they’re still a family…even if he and Maggie are at the verge of exchanging blows. But her fiery determination and gorgeous looks prove irresistible to Alex. And much as he wants to relegate their relationship to the playing field—and get the Saints back in the game—Alex just can’t help himself: What he wants to win most is Maggie’s heart…

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS.

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This book is the first one in The New York Saints series, but it can be read as a stand alone. If you’re a fan of baseball, maybe this series is for you, if you’re looking for an epic love story, I don’t think this one is going to match your expectations.

Maybe I’m in a book funk because I got bored with this book pretty fast. Around 20% in I started to feel uninterested and almost skipped a few descriptions/narration parts that are too long and not that useful in my opinion. Though, I kept on reading.

The first 20% were really fun and entertaining with a chick-lit vibe, but it’s not at all the tone I was expecting or even the kind of plot I was looking for going in. I wanted a real romance and in the end it’s part romance and part chick-lit. I’m not the right reader for that type of story.
Then my interest picked again around 75-80% in the story. As you can see, half of the novel bored me, but that doesn’t mean this book isn’t good. I think it’s more a matter of my taste rather than anything else.

The writing itself is great, but I think the inner musings and narration overrule the dialogues too much. At some point I had a hard time keeping my attention riveted to the story. Also, the “inner therapist’’ as Maggie calls her inner voice made me roll my eyes several times. Fortunately, it’s not used more than 5 or 6 times because I don’t see the use of it and really it doesn’t bring anything to Maggie’s voice or even the plot and dynamic of the story.

Maggie and Alex’s relationship was solely based on lust and while I can see a certain attachment between them growing at one point, I didn’t see the build up, didn’t see the struggle in Maggie and Alex regarding their work. It’s way too downplayed. And in the end, we don’t them together all that much.

Then, there’s the whole baseball thing. I was expecting to see more of the players and in the end there’s only Ollie, one of the player and Maggie’s ex and good friend. I think the “sub-plot’’ with Ollie isn’t used at all. There could have been a nice twist there…

Also, the whole main plot regarding Alex taking over the Saints is a little too all over the place. For a long while nothing much happens and then all of a sudden things are rushed and some things even happen “off pages”. That bothers me a lot if I’m being honest.

In the end, I’m disappointed and I think the plot isn’t thrilling enough to keep me interested.

Will I read the next installment? Maybe, maybe not. Right now I’m not sure.

What do you think of Alex?

 

RATING:

3

Leave a Reply

