Review: Unintentional Virgin, by A.J. Bennett

18212168

 

Part of a series? No.

Category: New Adult, but can be read as an adult novel in my opinion.

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Self-published.

Pages: 203

Blurb:

Karma Points is cursed. Cursed with a stupid name and the inability to lose her virginity. She’s on a mission to lose her virginity before she turns twenty if it’s the last thing she does.

One night, her good friend Eva brings her to an underground club where Karma meets a tattooed bouncer. He’s far from the clean-cut type she normally falls for, which makes her think this finally might be the night she crosses the threshold of womanhood.

Excited, she goes home with the bouncer named Jax and as always, her dreams crash down once again. Jax cannot believe she is willing to give away her virginity to a stranger she met at a club. As the only son with five sisters and a widowed mom, he can’t morally go through with it, even though he’s never been more tempted in his life.

Unwilling to let her walk away he strikes a deal. Karma has to spend three weeks dating him and then decide if she wants to have sex or walk away.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

 

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This standalone novel while very sweet to read leaves me only half satisfied. Somehow, I was expecting something deeper, characterizations more polished and a plot more thrilling.

I enjoyed reading this book. It’s the perfect read if you’re looking for a sweet story, something not very deep and if you want a somewhat fast paced novel. Though, I was expecting something sweet and even funny sometimes, I was also looking for something that would make me feel and unfortunately I didn’t feel much.

Somehow, the characters while interesting and great to follow, lack that characterization I need in books to truly and fully enjoy it. Let me explain as much as possible without giving away any spoiler.

Karma’s mother and the whole issue surrounding them both should have been more exploited. Other than a few run ins we don’t see much and what we see sounds so very fake that it made me cringe. I think the author doesn’t show us how Karma feels sometimes, as if there’s something holding back these emotions on paper to seep into me/us readers. Also, Karma’s father is a little too cliché for my taste, but his sweetness is great. Karma’s issues aren’t enough played out to seem true. Once again, it’s not enough detailed, shown.

With Jax, it’s the same. His emotions are pretty much on the surface. I would have loved it if the author would have dug deeper into his psyche. He’s a great character with enough sex appeal to keep me interested, but that doesn’t mean I’m not feeling disappointed that he’s not exploited fully.

Also, both characters don’t seem all that constant throughout the novel. I don’t mind when characters change their mind, but I need to understand it and to actually feel their emotions to tie me down to them.

Also, the plot itself is built in a way that makes it frustrating. We don’t see the whole three weeks they’re supposed to spend together, only pieces here and there to the point of losing me a little bit a few times when it comes to the timeline. That’s a little annoying.

The writing of the author is great and flows well. I like the dialogues.

This book is a nice story, but I’m afraid that I will not remember it down the road. The premise doesn’t keep all its promise. Of course, I’m pretty sure I’m one of the few feeling that way.

 

RATING:

3

One thought on “Review: Unintentional Virgin, by A.J. Bennett

Leave a Reply

