Review: Follow, by J.A. Huss

perf5.250x8.000.indd

 

Part of a series? Yes.

Cliffhanger? Yes.

Category: Adult/Erotica

Genre: Contemporary Romance.

Publisher: Science Future Press.

Pages: 150

Blurb:

#Women.

I fuck them. I use them. I pay them off. I find another. My demands are never denied. My contracts are always signed. They submit to me. Willingly. Completely. Temporarily. This is how it’s always been.

Until I saw that filthy tweet.

@VaughnAsher My bare pussy. Your tongue. #ThingsIThinkAboutToGetOff

“FilthyBlueBird” thinks she can tease me with hashtags and then hide behind a Twitter handle? She thinks I wouldn’t be more than happy to #RockHerFilthyWorld? She’s wrong.

Her online fantasy is about to collide with her public reality, and it’s about to happen… now.

THIS IS A SERIAL NOVELLA
THAT MEANS ALL ENDINGS ARE CLIFFHANGERS
THIS NOVELLA IS ABOUT 150 PAGES LONG
THIS IS PART ONE OF SIX
BOOKS ARE RELEASED EVERY TWO WEEKS

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

 

REVIEW:

I received this book via Netgalley for an honest review.

This book is the first installment in a serial. Apparently, each installment will be published every two weeks. That’s a nice surprise. 🙂

When I saw this one on Netgalley, the cover didn’t attract me at all to be honest, but then I’ve heard great things about this author so I clicked to see what this book was all about. The blurb completely caught my attention. The premise while not necessarily unique was still appealing to me, common girl meets movie star, but then the whole twitter thing seemed to add that little something different I’m craving these days.

I’m pleasantly surprised by the length of this first installment. Often in serial I think the installments are too short, but this one is the perfect length. There is enough build up between the main characters, enough background info to leave us guessing and craving for more and the characterization is on the right track.

The writing itself is flowing very well. There is sometimes maybe a little too much internal musings with Grace’s POV, but at the same time it’s easy to see the character’s voice. I would have loved to see a little bit more of Vaughn’s POV and maybe some more emotions because so far he seems pretty shallow and not so nice.

The main characters have an interesting dynamic and it’s really fun to read. And hot. I like the little banters, the chase and doubts shown in this first installment. Also, it’s great to see that Grace has a real backbone and doesn’t fall in the shadow of the male character like it’s too often the case in romance. Though, sometimes I couldn’t fully follow Grace’s thought process. I understand her doubts, and fears and even her reluctance because Vaughn seems quite despicable right now, but I can see some redeeming qualities lurking underneath it all and I look forward to see that pan out.

Also, the secondary characters seem interesting. At least, on Vaughn’s side because Bebe, Grace’s best friend, is quite inexistent here. Though, Vaughn’s brother and sister make me want to read and discover more about them. Let’s hope the author will have something planned for them.

The plot of this first installment is pretty straight forward and doesn’t leave us guessing much, but I like the light tone of this book, the sexy tension and the premise. I think the next installment is going to be really great and I hope the author is going to use even more the whole plot around twitter because I’m left wanting more of that.

As you can see, I will read the next installment and I look forward to it.

Is Follow on your TBR? What do you think of Vaughn?

 

RATING:

3.5 to 4

Leave a Reply

